Bromide Magazine

About 10 days ago I ordered Bromide, a monthly Korean magazine, at Yes24Indonesia, and yesterday it finally arrived. Woohoo… my first Korean magazine!

Bromide Feb 2013
Bromide Feb 2013

The real price is 1,000 won (about US$ 1), which is cheap for a K-pop magazine, so I didn’t have high expectations for it, but the magazine is not that bad, I think I got what I paid for (in a good way, I mean). The size is a bit smaller than the 980 yen Japanese K-Pop magazines I usually get at Kinokuniya bookstore.

Price: 1,000 won
Price: 1,000 won

I like that all pages are full color, the magazine paper is surprisingly thick, not the flimsy one which is common for cheap magazines. The magazine is about 60 pages long, and I think it’s going to take me quite some time to read it cover to cover. And it smells so fresh (I like sniffing new books).

The two main articles are about new rising stars in K-Pop and rising child actors for 2013.

Main Article

Those child actors might be huge in South Korea but as a new fan of Hallyu, I really don’t know who these kids are, but skimming the article makes me realize something: when I read a Korean name, I can’t tell whether it is a female or male name. (I was like… wait, which one is 박컨태? This boy or this girl?).

It has the usual K-Pop star interviews with pictures…

Star Interview
Star Interview with Glam

This month edition has articles about B1A4, Infinite, CNBLUE, SNSD, 2PM, Secret, ZE:A, Orange Caramel & NU’EST, Kara, HELLOVENUS, and Glam. That’s a lot of reading material.

CNBLUE
CNBLUE

At the back pages, there’s a double-sided mini poster. If you choose B1A4 to put on your bedroom wall, you can’t see the Infinite mini poster, and vice versa.

Mini Poster Side A
Mini Poster: B1A4
Mini Poster Side B
Mini Poster: Infinite

This month star calendar is B1A4.

Calendar
With Korean public holidays, of course.

There are also a crossword puzzle and a horoscope corner.
Crossword

And a psychological quiz corner, with only 2 questions.

心理テスト

And some corners for message from readers, from which I assume that Bromide’s target customers are…  children, I mean, teenagers. Obviously not 30-something women or ajumma like me.

Drawing
Drawings from readers.
Readers' selca (self-camera)
Readers’ selca (self portraits). How shocking… they’re… little children.

Wait, I’ve just noticed that some of the readers’ mail are from 6th graders.

Well, before this, I read stories for toddlers, so I say this is a progress for me.

Anyways…

I don’t find the language used in the magazine childish or dumbed down at all. It’s quite challenging, actually.

I’ve just read few pages and found some interesting new words, such as 폭풍 클릭 (=storms of clicks, or  lots of web visitors), 누리꾼 (=netizen, people on the internet), and CG남 (=a handsome male who looks perfect even without CG manipulations).

I’m glad that I bought the magazine, because even though I can always read celebrity news in Korean on the internet, it feels just nice to have a real Korean magazine that I can touch and smell…. and read in the toilet. Maybe I will be able to retain words more.

8 thoughts on “Bromide Magazine

    • “Bromide” smells really good. I wonder about other Korean magazines. ^^ I think you can find K-Pop magazines at almost any online stores that sell K-Pop stuff (DVDHeaven, YesAsia, TTMIK’s store, etc.).

    • Hahaha! I want it now :D and so do I, maybe High Cut would be a nice one to get?! Not sure will just have to try ^^ and I didn’t think of that haha but I just checked YesAsia and they do have some magazines ; sadly me and TTMIK store are off limits because of the PayPal thing :(

    • They do but they have a habit of always ignoring my main point no matter how many times I try to explain it to them T^T which is very very sad!!!!! :(

  1. They’re busy I guess. You can always e-mail them again until they give you a proper response. I mean, you’re a paying customer, they will listen to you. ^^ 힘내요.

Leave a Reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

