How to Type Hangul without the Pain of Memorizing the Hangul Keyboard Layout

To me typing hangul is frustrating. To type fast, I have to memorize the hangul layout, and I want to avoid it if possible.

On the other hand, typing in Japanese is not that troublesome, if you use ROMAJI input mode. So you can type with the usual QWERTY layout and hit the space bar to get the Japanese letters you want, either in hiragana, katakana, or kanji.

I think typing with hangul layout on Korean keyboard is similar to typing with KANA layout on Japanese keyboard.

So I googled, and found 4 ways on how to type Korean hangul with alphabet.

1. Download Hangul notepad-like editor from Nabeta Edit (Nabeta Korean Romanized input text editor).

Follow the English instruction there. I use it on Windows 7, and it has been working well. You have to copy paste your hangul sentence from the editor to your browser or wherever you want it to be, but if you compare it to the pain of typing with hangul keyboard, it’s still faster and worth a try.

2. Don’t Want to Download any Software? Use Sayjack Korean Romanization Input Method.

Type in the column with alphabets and it will automatically show hangul. Copy and paste the hangul.

3. Use MauveCloud’s Hangul Generator.

Type in the column with alphabets and it will automatically show hangul. Copy and paste the hangul.

4. Use Google Japanese Input and follow the all-in-Japanese instruction by Minami Yusuke-san here.

I wanted to translate it but then I thought, if you can’t read Japanese, and if you’re not accustomed to typing in Japanese, you might end up getting frustrated… so it’s only for people who can read and type in Japanese. And I’m too lazy to translate it anyway. OK, maybe some other time. Or not.

Look how easy it is to type “saranghabnida” (I love you) in hangul with Google Japanese Input.

How nice if this kind of hangul input system become mainstream in the future.