Using FLTR (Foreign Language Text Reader) to Learn Korean

I love FLTR because it’s free and easy to use.

How to use FLTR:

1. Find some hangul to read from the internet. Let’s say… something from Naver News (with video and transcript, it’s a great learning material).

2. Copy and paste the script to FLTR editor. Name and save the text.

Almost all the words are highlighted in purple, which means they’re never learnt before. That’s because I have just started using FLTR. Later FLTR will learn about what words I’ve memorized and change the colors.

3. Click the word, and it will take you to an online dictionary of your choice (you need to do some setting first). Decide which level that word belongs to (Level from 1 to 5, or Known, or Ignored), type in definition, romanization (optional), and sample sentence (optional).

This is how the editor will look like after you finish reading:

Lots of red words means lots of Level 1 or Unknown words for me.
As I become more familiar with these words, I will edit them to higher level and the color will change.

Look at all the colors. So pretty♬

4. Now let’s review the vocabulary. Choose “Vocabulary” from drop-down menu on the Text column. And then click Read/Study.

5. Filter the words you’d like to review. Which text, which level, on what order, and how many words.

6. Click “Browser” and the words you want to review will be listed up in a table in your web browser.
Click and unclick the options on the top of the page.

And that’s it. I don’t care so much about the export function to Anki. Maybe there are some other stuff it can do that I’m not aware of. Check it here, if you’re interested.

The Cons:
FLTR can’t test on new words like Anki or Quizlet but now I love that I can just keep reading new materials and review words only when I want to. With Anki, sometimes (most of the time?) I feel anxious because just seeing the icon on my desktop always remind me of hundreds of cards I neglect to review. And with Quizlet, I often feel not motivated enough to test myself, and then just ignore the old sets.

FLTR doesn’t support audio. But I don’t think it’s necessary if I learn with online videos on Naver and I can always use audio players on my PC anyway.

Some Notes on Configuration:

1. Change the URL of your dictionaries first…
I use Google Translate (Korean-Japanese) for Dictionary 1, Naver Korean-Japanese for no. 2, and Naver English for no.3.

2. And then change the value of “Open Automatically URL1” from 1 to 0 to stop it open your browser automatically. It’s pretty annoying. Or you can keep it that way, if you like.

3. Also change the size of windows and font size from General Settings to your preference. I like them big.

OK, that’s all! Tell me how it works for you.

Also read Using FLTR (Foreign Language Text Reader) to Learn Korean part 2 and part 3.

And check all the online learning tools that I use on my Resources page.

16 thoughts on “Using FLTR (Foreign Language Text Reader) to Learn Korean

  1. I’ve literally just started using this thanks to you and it’s still a little confusing for me, but I’ll get the hang of it with frequent use. I also get scared of the “500+ cards” thing with Anki and I haven’t used it in so long.😄 I really love how this is a quicker and really convenient way for me to look up and learn new words. Vocab is my weak point at the moment with Korean so hopefully this will help. ^.^


    • I never review Anki anymore. “500+ cards” sounds scary. ^^ I hope FLTR will get you on the track with your reading. My FLTR always gets broken if I use anti virus software to scan my computer and I have to reinstall it and loose all data. I don’t know how to fix that. But I think we will have to stop using learning tools like Anki and FLTR at some point so I don’t mind restarting fresh every now and then.


    • Ah, I wonder why it does that. Do you have Norton for antivirus? I have that and I’m judging it so hard right now in case it erases stuff. >.> Yeah, at some point we’ll be on our own hopefully with a foolproof way of reviewing stuff. I think that’s my weak point. I have a bad habit of not reviewing.😄


  2. Saza says:

    Halo. Salam kenal.
    Aku ada kesulitan buat setting kamusnya. Gimana ya caranya biar english naver dictionary-nya bisa menerjemahkan secara otomatis seperti google translate?
    Maksudku, kalau kita meng-klik sebuah kata maka kata tersebut langsung muncul di pencarian, nggak harus menulis terlebih dahulu.
    Kira-kira bisa nggak, ya?

    Terima kasih.


    • Klik “Edit” yang ada di deretan Language: Korean. Terus kan terbuka window baru tuh. Cari “OpenAutomaticallyURL1” atau “OpenAutomaticallyURL2” atau “OpenAutomaticallyURL3”, terus ubah angkanya jadi 0 atau 1. Angka 1 artinya kamus akan terbuka otomatis di browser. Kalau 0, nggak.


  3. Saza says:

    Maksudku begini. Ketika aku meng-klik sebuah kata, misal 동안 dan aku mengatur google translate sebagai kamus utama yang secara otomatis terbuka, maka google translate secara otomatis akan mencari arti kata tersebut tanpa aku menulisnya.
    Sedangkan kalau aku menggunakan naver sebagai kamus otomatis, ketika aku meng-klik sebuah kata, naver nggak otomatis mencari. Jadi aku harus mengetik kata yang kucari tadi.

    Kira-kira url apa yang harus kumasukkan biar naver bisa mencari kata yang ku-klik secara otomatis tanpa menulis?
    Semoga paham dengan pertanyaanku.
    Terima kasih.


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

