Different Beliefs in Language Learning

韓国語の勉強In 2009, wow that’s ages ago,
I sent an email to an e-list, whose members were Indonesian translators, saying that children could master English without having to rely on school.

It was a mistake (or was it?).

Many people were enraged with my opinion. Not that many, actually. Maybe about 10 or so. But at that time, I felt like I was being attacked.

The moderator was not on my side,
because he/she blocked my emails so they would not be sent to other e-list members.

Boy, was I furious. ^^

I left the e-list,
I swore to myself that I would never be associated with that e-list ever again.

Isn’t it great that in real life we can quit anything so we don’t need to be bullied by people without our consent?

(Wait, internet is real life? ^^)

When I told people I believed I could learn Korean without relying on language school AND without having to live in Korea, there were people who got furious, too.

Read my blog post: “How to Deal with an Internet Troll“.

People believe in different things, even in language learning.

Apparently your beliefs become your reality.

But your reality is not mine.

You can’t make me live according to your reality.

You don’t even know me.

Actually, my point is… isn’t that interesting that people get emotional over something as harmless as language learning? ㅋㅋㅋ

오늘도 한국어 공부 화이팅 하세요! Go learn some Korean. ###

2 thoughts on “Different Beliefs in Language Learning

  1. creativityjapanese says:

    True, different people have different beliefs in language learning and we can’t make people think our way and vice versa. Well, I guess we just have to continue to believe what we believe in.
    Anyway, can I ask for the title of the book that you have in the picture? It looks interesting. ^^


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

