About Age and Learning Korean

Before we begin, let’s listen to “Summer Paradise” by Simple Plan and Taka (of the Japanese rock band, ONE OK ROCK). I really like the song but iTunes and Amazon Japan won’t let me purchase it because I don’t live in Japan. 이 노래 진짜 좋아요. (=I really like this song.) ↓

Kyaa~! Taka is so cute! I want to marry Taka! (>o<) *which is totally a lie but I love saying it*

어때요?(=What do you think?)
좋죠? (=It’s good, right?)

Now you can read my rambling blog post.↓

I learned Japanese by studying and living in Japan. So in 1997 (or was it 1998?), I went to live in Tokyo, Japan, before I could even read hiragana, and boy, that first year was really hard. I was on my own, I couldn't speak the language, I didn't know enough about myself so the language learning process was not easy. It was hard for me, but the Japanese people were so kind, and I fell in love with the people. That's why I stayed in Japan for the next 10 years (or maybe 11, God, my memory is so bad. I am old).

Now I’m actually happy that I’m learning Korean and not living in Korea. I think it’s a blessing in disguise. Wait a minute, it’s not ‘in disguise’ if I know it. So yes, I think it’s a pure blessing that I don’t live in Seoul or Busan so I don’t need to speak Korean right away to survive. The Universe is being very kind to me.

I’m also happy that I’m older now. Now, that I’m over 30, I know myself more, I know “how I roll”, I know how I can teach myself a foreign language more effectively, compare to the time when I was a 19-year-old who lived alone in Japan.

I know many people use their age as an excuse to not learning a new language. They’re not wrong. If they truly believe that, it becomes their reality. I was thinking, my mother doesn’t want to learn Korean, and it’s OK by me. ㅋㅋㅋ

But for myself, I think my age is an asset in learning a new language, not a liability, not what hinders me.

People say that they wish they were small children so they can “absorb” Korean words more easily. Because children’s minds are like “sponge”. That’s probably true about children, but what a ridiculous wish. Why would you be children again? You didn’t suffer enough the first time? ㅋㅋㅋ

Children can not learn what I’ve been learning in the past 2 years. Korean 2 year olds can’t read 10TEN Story magazine like I can now. Korean 2 year olds can’t read Korean TOPIK books and explain to themselves the difference between -는 셈이다 and -는 셈치다. No, they can’t. But I can.

Yeah, I’m far more superior than children. And as an adult, you’re proud of that? ㅋㅋㅋ

Now, stop making excuses about age, and go memorize some Korean. 한국어 공부 열심히들 하세요! ^^ ###

6 thoughts on “About Age and Learning Korean

  1. creativityjapanese says:

    Honestly, I’m guilty of that but I’ve learned to overcome it. Indeed being an adult helps cos there are SO many things for adults to explore and I’m so grateful for that!


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

