How to Learn to do Anything in Korean

Korean textbooks at Kinokuniya bookstore.

Korean textbooks at Kinokuniya bookstore. No, I’ve never read them.

I read that someone said, “You can’t expect yourself to be able to read Korean newspaper with Talk To Me In Korean‘s free lessons.”

Maybe that person was trying to be funny. I don’t know.

But let’s talk about it.

How can you train yourself to read Korean newspaper? By reading one! (Try Naver News). You will read it slowly at first, you will have to look up a lot of unfamiliar words with an online dictionary. But you will be good at it if you keep reading Korean newspaper everyday.

In the same manner, how can you learn to read Korean books? By reading one, of course. How can you learn to understand Korean in Korean dramas? By watching one.

And how can you train yourself to speak Korean? By speaking Korean. Not by keeping your mouth shut for the first 2 years.

I’m learning to speak Korean by doing my TTYIK method. TTYIK is Talk To Yourself In Korean. I’m trying to sound cool here to tell you about a training method which is so simple: just talk to yourself in Korean. Haha.

Have you ever thought about how babies learn to talk? They learn to talk simply by talking. They’re terribly bad at it at first, all they can say for the first 2 years is “baa boo baa boo”. But they keep saying nonsense to their parents and be good at talking at year 3 or 4. Babies don’t think, “I really need to learn to talk” and be anxious about it, they just talk. They don’t think, “I’m 2 but I still can’t talk now because my parents didn’t send me to language school”. They just do it, and in their own time they speak human language like grown-ups around them.

By the way, I’m pretty sure that people who say babies have “silent period” for 2 years have never raised babies themselves. Men, obviously.

What I’m trying to say with this blog post is… how to be good at something in Korean? Simply by doing it! Now go do whatever you want to do in Korean!

내일 또 뵈요. (=See you again tomorrow!) ###

2 thoughts on “How to Learn to do Anything in Korean

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

