Liebster Award Nomination

Three bloggers have nominated me for a Liebster Award. Thank you for remembering my blog. I always love more recognition and more readers for this lonely… lonely blog… nobody comes here. From what I understand, Liebster Award is like a prompt to give bloggers something to blog about (it’s not?).

Here’s the information that I shamelessly copy pasted from other blogs that nominate me.

What is the Liebster Award?
It’s an acknowledgement to new bloggers with fewer than 200 followers and it is passed between bloggers.

The rules of receiving the award
1. List 11 random facts about yourself
2. Answer the questions designated by the blogger(s) who nominated you
3. Place YOUR nominations for the Liebster Award. Nominate 5 (or more) other bloggers that have fewer than 200 followers. Make sure to notify them via comment/mail/etc.
4. Make up a set of questions for those nominated bloggers to answer.
5. Display the Liebster Award badge on your blog!

OK, seem simple enough.

1. List 11 random facts… I did that. Please see my About page.
2. Answer questions…

Questions from My Korean Diary:

1. If you could be invisible for a day, what would you do that day?
I would stalk Zico (rapper from Block B).

2. If you won flight tickets in a lottery which country would you like to travel to?
South Korea, of course.

3. What is your favorite quote?
School sucks. I think it’s famous because everybody says that.

4. If you were going to get a tattoo what would it be?
I will never get a tattoo and I can only hope my children won’t either.

5. Blueberries or Strawberries?
Strawberries. We have fresh strawberries in the supermarket in Indonesia, but I’ve never seen fresh blueberries. I never liked blueberry jam. Definitely strawberries.

Questions posted by Blue Hanbok:

1. Milk, tea or coffee?
Coffee, I’m addicted to caffeine.

2. Would you like to marry a Korean?
I wouldn’t mind but I married an Indonesian. I had dated men of other nationalities too but I guess you can’t marry someone if the two of you are not meant to be.

3. If you were to visit Korea, in what city or what place do you want to go first?
Park Yong Ha’s grave. Bundang Memorial Park. He was the one who got me started on learning Korean so I want to thank him.

4. Complete the sentence: 10 years from now, I ____________________________.

will be 44…? I can’t imagine what I would do at that age. I’m just “enjoying the ride” right now. If I’m still alive at that age,  I will be doing just that, “enjoying the ride”.

5. What do you do during your free time?
Learn Korean. Blog about learning Korean. Update my Facebook page about learning Korean. Find Korean books and K-Pop CD to buy later.

Questions from Korean Student Blog:

1. What is your favorite Korean dish/which one would you like to try?
My favorite Korean dish is 돌솥 비빔밥 (dolsot bibimppap). I used to go to this Korean restaurant in Shibuya to eat it, but the restaurant went bankrupt. In Japanese it’s called “ishiyaki bibimba” (石焼ビビンバ).

2. What was your most embarrassing language learning moment so far? (all languages allowed)
When I was in Japan, I wanted to report to the police that my bicycle was stolen, but I couldn’t say it. The nice policeman didn’t understand me. So I had to go home, checked the passive form of “nusumu” (=to steal) in my Japanese textbook. I memorized “jitensha ga nusumaremashita” (=my bicycle is stolen) and returned to the police station. Since that day, I always bring my electronic dictionary every where I go. I recommend Ex-Word Casio.

3. If you were to choose any other career track/degree than the one you have chosen, what would you do?
I would be a female rapper in Korea so I could stalk Zico. (No, I can’t rap.)

4. If you could go back in time and spend a day in any era in any country, where would you go?
I want to go back to Tokyo, Japan when Park Yong Ha was alive and go to one of his concerts. I wasn’t a fan when he was alive.

5. In the process of learning another language (or if you’ve been in another country for an extended period of time) have you then picked up some expressions/manners that are distinct for that language/culture?
Living in Japan for 10 years has made me aware of other ways -kinder ways- of perceiving things, made me believe in the generosity of people and the abundance of this wonderful life. Do I sound like a self-help book?

Blogs I nominate:

which is an online Korean bookstore that ships internationally. So it’s kind of weird to ask them blog about Liebster Award. But you should check them out because they’re having a Lucky Draw for Korean books every week.

Seoul Crystal
I’m not sure whether she still blogs but it’s a good blog about learning Korean. I read her review about Yonsei textbooks lately.

Hangeul Diaries
because she seems friendly. She blogs about her experience learning Korean. Lately I found out about Naver Newsstand from her blog post.

because Jubee is studying for TOPIK Advanced and replied to my question about the book she’s using.

Acquiring Korean
Check out Anno’s post about Korea Bang a site that translates Korean news into English.

Do check my sidebar widget for other personal blogs about learning Korean.

My questions for the nominees are:
1. if you have to recommend one book only for beginners in learning Korean, what would it be?
2. what is the ultimate advice would you give to people who just about to start in learning Korean?
3. why did you start learning Korean in the first place? I mean, it’s so hard!
4. what keeps you going, why do you continue learning Korean?
5. what was the first book in Korean that you finished?

It’s always OK to refuse the award. I won’t take it personally, I promise. But here’s the award badge for you to use. ↓

Liebster Award

For other bloggers, if you feel like answering my questions and blog about it, please do so and take the Liebster Award for your blog! ^^
Thank you. 감사합니다.

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award Nomination

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

