9 Important Things I Need to Tell You about Learning Korean

English: Park Yong-ha at the press conference ...

English: Park Yong-ha at the press conference for a drama. 한국어: 박용하. 드라마 제작발표회장에서. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, it’s June again, the anniversary of Park Yong Ha’s death, which also means I’ve been studying Korean on my own for 2 whole years. So on this special occasion (?), there are 8 things that I’m going to tell you about learning Korean. Wait, no, 9. They’re just random things, but I’ll put them in numbers, so you would think I’m smart. Read below.

1. Time in a day I can use to learn Korean is limited. So I take it whenever I get it. 5 to 15 minutes here and there is good enough.

2. Korean is not difficult, you just need explanation to understand it. I get my explanation from Naver dictionaries, books, Lang-8, and Google.

3. I do experience learning burnout, every single day. For me, burnout is my body telling me kindly that it’s just time to stop and take a rest. Start again tomorrow.

4. Project-based learning is fun.
My projects are translating K-Pop, finishing an article of a K-Pop magazine, training my ears to understand K-Pop songs, and anything else I feel like doing at the moment.

5. And because I’m always having fun and I’m always in the middle of my own project, I don’t mind people telling me that I would never be successful in mastering Korean because I have no teacher, I don’t get formal education to learn Korean, I have never set foot in the country, I don’t have Korean friends, etc. People are always wrong. I only care about my own opinion.

6. I’m learning Korean 100% for internal rewards (self-contentment) but sometimes I get external rewards, too. Like when my favorite Korean artist replied to my tweet, twoChois sent me free stuff from Korea, KBS World sent me a ZE:A’s autographed CD, etc. And I’m excited to wait for other good things in life to come my way.

7. You’ll learn and retain more by doing things that you love, not by doing things that you hate. Parents told you that lie when you were a child to keep you at school. Now you’re an adult, you should know better. So learn Korean from things that you enjoy. I enjoy K-Pop, I study song lyrics every day for the last 2 years. I don’t like math, I will never ever try to read a math textbook in Korean.

8. Adults do forget everything they learn at school. It’s OK and 100% safe to forget everything the day after the test. We all do. No worries. Don’t know if this piece of information helps in learning Korean, but when I was a child, adults kept this secret from children. But when you’re learning Korean, you want to remember, not forget everything after the TOPIK test, right? So you need to know how to remember and how not to forget. Basically it’s just mental work. Not a big deal. (Now I remember that My Seoul Dream blogged about this.)

9. Learning Korean is just about memorization of words and grammar rules, and training yourself (to speak, to listen, to read, etc.). It might be fun to have other people teach or train you, but you can do it well on your own.

Anyway, life is good. (Where does this come from?). Thank you for reading my blog today. See you tomorrow! ###

10 thoughts on “9 Important Things I Need to Tell You about Learning Korean

  1. Thanks for sharing this! I myself am studying Korean on my own as well. Actually, I’m now studying at Korea but all my classes are in English; that’s why my Korean is very poor ==” plz dont blame me lol 한국어 잘 못 해 ㅠㅠ
    I just started writing this blog a few days ago ><


  2. Thank you for the tips & motivation ^^ I agree with you on “project-based learning”. I did that when I studied Japanese a few years ago ^^ It keeps me motivated😀

    I started a korean learning blog because of yours and also I want to see how far I can go by learning alone.


  3. This week I got external rewards. People who have been generously giving of their time to help me learn Korean decided to send ME gifts. Wow, It totally should be the other way around! Of course, for those who are willing to share their home address with me, I have given gifts. Just small things, as my budget is tight, but heartfelt. Some times just a thank you post card. I gave all these things out of an overflowing gratitude for their friendship. It is still amazing to me how generous Korean people have been to me.

    You have been so helpful to me with your blog. If you are willing to share your address with me, I would like to send you a postcard. email me at jreidy at lycos,com if you’d like some mail from USA.


    • You’re too kind! Don’t trouble yourself for me. I’ve done nothing worthy of it. “Overflowing gratitude”, that’s a nice sentiment to feel. Maybe Koreans are generous and like giving gifts, maybe they’re happy you’re learning their language and want to support you in your effort. ^^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

