Self-Talk Method with “Korean Vocabulary Practice for Foreigners”

Korean Vocabulary Practice for Foreigners

Korean Vocabulary Practice for Foreigners

Everything related to the word 지름길.

Everything related to the word 지름길.

This is a page taken of  a book published by Yonsei University: Korean Vocabulary Practice for Foreigners – Advanced Level – English Version.

I bought this book in December last year because I wanted to know what “advanced-level words” are, and I  thought I  needed to know those words in order to pass the advanced level of TOPIK.

But when I tried reading it, I had this reaction: “It feels like I’m memorizing a dictionary! Argh!”

Now I’ve found out that this problem can be solved easily by using self-talk method. So I can read it while explaining it to myself and by having a conversation with myself.

As an example here, let’s say I want to memorize the word “지름길”, which means “shortcut”.

There is pronunciation guide in hangul.
So 지름길 is not [ji-reum-gil], it’s [ji-reum-kkil]. Interesting.

 

There are 2 related expressions, with English translation. So now I know how to say “to take a shortcut” and “to use a shortcut to go” in Korean. Can I say it without looking? Yes, I can. Moving on.

Next, we have a sentence. So I examine the sentence carefully. I look up words that I don’t know. I imagine the situation where I can use the sentence. And then I try to reproduce the Korean sentence (just orally because I don’t like writing). I correct myself until I get it right.

Now I can say “We missed the shortcut and instead took a different path” in Korean. > 우리는 가까운 지름길을 놔두고 다른길로 돌아갔어요.

I say it out loud 2-3 times, imagining I’m telling it to a Korean.

Wow, I’m so good at this. Look at me, I’m speaking Korean! I sound exactly like a Korean!

See? You can have fun even though you’re learning on your own.

But I won’t use this book just yet, I’m still about to read the Intermediate level – Japanese version that I bought at twoChois last week. ###

6 thoughts on “Self-Talk Method with “Korean Vocabulary Practice for Foreigners”

  1. I also talk to myself to explain things sometimes, and it really helps in remembering! ^^ I’m intrigued by this book. I wonder if I should also get the Intermediate version (but I probably won’t because I’m broke XD). Anyway, thank you for sharing! ^^

    Like

  2. Great post! However, how do you know your pronunciation and intonation are good? I know that sometimes on naver you can listen to audio, however with whole sentence it’s not the same. Do you know any resource where you can practice whole sentences with audio files provided by native speakers?

    Like

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

