About Mixing Languages

English: Multilingual(Japanese, English, Chine...

English: Multilingual(Japanese, English, Chinese and Korean languages) danger sign at Jujo Station 日本語: 十条駅の四ヶ国語危険表示 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Conclusion first: I see no problems in mixing English words and Korean words in one sentence when learning Korean.

It takes time to get used to Korean sentence pattern. I actually see mixing words as a good way to get used to Korean sentence pattern and a good way to memorize Korean words.

At the beginning you will change just single English words into Korean. Maybe you’ll remember that “cat” is “goyangi” in Korean. Or “to eat” is “meok-tta”. Or “please” is “juseyo”.

Then, you will remember Korean in short phrases.

Later, as you keep practicing, remembering more words, and getting better at conjugation, you will able to say full sentences in Korean.

And eventually, when you’ve had enough hours under your belt, you won’t even need to think in English to speak Korean. It’s going to be a happy moment. You will smile and you will be pleased with yourself.

I learned Japanese via English so I speak from my experience. And yes, I did mix Japanese with English (and also Indonesian language) before I was ready to make perfect Japanese sentences. But only when I talk to other Japanese learners (other foreigners), or when I talk to myself. Not to a Japanese of course, she will be confused.

I see nothing wrong with it, and I think of it as a necessary step for me before I got used to Japanese sentence pattern (which is similar to Korean).

I remember there were some people -other foreigners- who looked down on us who mixed Japanese with another language when speaking. They thought that we were embarrassing or sounding like idiots or something. They didn’t say it directly to us at that time, I only read their opinion on their blogs. I remember thinking, when those snobs spent their time hating on me and my friends, we were learning and remembering and practicing Japanese so much more than them, and we were having a blast. Those were good times.

Maybe there are also people who also forbid themselves to speak Korean until they could speak in perfect Korean sentences. Maybe it is one of those language learning methods… that I don’t care about. But as you can see in my blog, I do mix English and Korean. That’s how I practice my 한국어. For the record, I’m not embarrassed doing it. And I encourage you to do it especially at the beginning phase of your learning, just so you can have more practice speaking and thinking in Korean.

OK, then. 즐거운 주말 되세요. (=Have a fun weekend.) 다음에 또 뵙겠습니다. (=See you again next time). ###

2 thoughts on “About Mixing Languages

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

