I Can Think In Kanji

kanji written in japanese kanji

Kanji written in Japanese kanji (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m memorizing 4-letter idioms (사자성어) because I feel like doing it.

And then I realize something.

I can think in kanji.

I can remember the 4 kanji used in the idiom, and read it in Hangul, without reading it in Japanese on-yomi (because the idiom doesn’t exist in Japanese).

Wow, I didn’t know I could do that.

For example, this idiom: 見物生心 (견물생심)= wanting something after seeing it.

見=견
物=물
生=생
心=심

I remember the Korean idiom in its kanji form but I don’t read it Japanese way because it doesn’t exist in Japanese.

So that’s what happens if you learn Japanese for 15 years: you’ll be able to think in kanji, and read it in Hangul when you learn Korean. ###

I Can Think In Kanji”에 대한 4개의 생각

  1. 핑백: 12 Days of Kanji | To Learn the Kanji

  2. 핑백: Thoughtful Thursday: Japanese Proverbs | EF Foundation for Foreign Study Mid-Atlantic

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

