The Meaning of -는지 원 and -지 뭐예요

I posted a question on Lang-8.

What do -는지 원 and -지 뭐예요 mean?.

요즘 정치인들이 하는 꼴들 좀 봐. 우리 서민들의 생활에 관심이나 있는지 원.

감언이설에 속아서 입을 일도 없는 정장에다가 코트까지 사고 말았지 뭐예요.

Got my answer within 10 minutes:

-는지 원” means like in term of either “I wonder if..” or “I doubt if”. It is pretty much same meaning.

-지 뭐예요” used at the sentence for the feeling that you shouldn’t have done that, but you did it. The expression shows the feeling of regret.

So I think the sentences mean…

요즘 정치인들이 하는 꼴들 좀 봐. 우리 서민들의 생활에 관심이나 있는지 원. = Look at what the politicians do these days. I wonder whether they have the slightest of interest in ordinary people’s life like us.

감언이설에 속아서 입을 일도 없는 정장에다가 코트까지 사고 말았지 뭐예요. = I was tricked by sweet words and bought a formal dress (or a suit) that I will never wear, even a coat! (And I should not have bought them.) ###

3 thoughts on “The Meaning of -는지 원 and -지 뭐예요

  1. 있는지 원-> 있는지, 원~~~
    원 is like kind of 감탄사. It shows that I am not satisfied with the fact/thing.
    -지 뭐예요.
    It also can be used like….
    어머 글쎄, sam이 자동차를 새로 샀지 뭐예요~
    When you say something you have heard/seen/experienced to someone, you could also use ~지 뭐예요.
    내가 새로 알게 된 놀라운 혹은 의외의 것에 대해 다른 사람에게 알려줄 때에도 쓸 수 있어요.
    In the previous sentence,
    The fact that Sam bought new car was not expected.

    Like

  2. Shouldn’t you be enjoying your vacation and not here, answering questions about Korean? 🙂 Thank you for your explanation. I think I really get it now. And thank you for reblogging my post. 정말 감사합니다.

    Like

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

