About Being an Introvert and Learning Korean

I’m an introvert. I don’t talk much, and I don’t enjoy meeting people. I avoid going to a party if I can. (Which is most of the time). I’m still amazed at how Indonesians can talk about trivial stuff for hours and hours which might be the reason that free chatting services are so popular here. (Facebook, Twitter, Kakao Talk, Line…).

Where was I? Right, I’m an introvert, and at family gathering, an aunt of mine, once, insulted me for it. She said what a shame that I’m such a social outcast, that human beings are social creature, and I must go out to see more people, and I’m such a bad influence to my own children. (She’s not a bad person, it’s just that Indonesians are really blunt. People don’t hesitate to tell that you are a bad mother to your face. ><).

So I wasn’t angry, but a little annoyed, so I told her,”It’s OK by me if you think I’m incompetent and you can’t accept me for who I am. But the truth is I like myself. I’m enjoying my life. Don’t worry about me and my children. Everything is fine with us.”

She looked surprised and then tried to ridicule me for giving her a “too-serious” answer. She said, “Oh my God, don’t be so rigid like that. I was just kidding.” Or something like that.

The truth is my children are outgoing and enjoy being with other people. Just like their mother, they have good self-confidence, too. Their mother is learning Korean as a hobby and enjoying K-Pop songs. If you ask me, I think they have a very cool mom.

(On the other hand, having a well-intentioned mother who criticizes you all the time and tries to change you into someone else you’re not is painful.)

About this introvert thing…

The fact that I never approach a living Korean to talk to, even after 2 years of learning Korean, it’s actually by choice. Because sometimes I see Korean people at the mall. I just say to myself, wow… Korean. 한국인이다… But that’s it. How about saying hi and inviting them into my life? Uh-oh… maybe next time.

I enjoy interacting with ideas and stories in Korean, not necessarily people.

Being an introvert, learning a foreign language to meet more people is not a motivation, it sounds more like a torture.

I’m actually learning Korean to enjoy my time alone, not to interact with other people.

All My Love (TV series)

All My Love (TV series) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And now I’m using my Korean to have a good time alone, watching a Korean sit-com drama: 몽땅 내 사랑. ←이 드라마 너무 재미 있어서 완전 빠졌어요. (=This drama is so interesting I’m totally hooked!)

By the way, I won something from KBS World (OMG, again?!) Radio English Service. I don’t know what the prize is, but I got a hand-phone strap and postcards from KBS World Radio Indonesian Service once. I probably will get the same stuff this time, too. But anyway, I’m happy. I’m getting something sent from Korea♪ ###

4 thoughts on “About Being an Introvert and Learning Korean

  1. Congratulations for winning again~~ Thanks for posting this! I thought I was the only one who felt like this (though I’m not 100% introvert).. I am quite moody personally so there are times when I don’t enjoy interacting with people, especially when we meet for the first time. It’s just like…awkward, and I don’t even know if I can keep a conversation going for a couple more minutes.. With that, it actually feels like a burden instead of something I’d enjoy. I think it’s not that bad to be an introvert even when learning a language. Everyone has their own learning style anyway..

    But for me, it’s a whole lot different online. I find it easier to interact with people when I don’t meet them face-to-face. There’s just less tension and I don’t feel much pressured to answer immediately or let them show my facial expression when someone says something I don’t like.😀

    I think it’s better to be an introvert than someone who’s outgoing but always creates troubles or enemies. I mean being overly extrovert has its cons too, right?😄


  2. I feel the same way about being pushed too soon to speak up, too. “Can I have an hour to think of my response thoroughly about your cat?”😀
    Having introverted personality is not bad. It’s equally wonderful as having extroverted personality. The world is half introverts & half extroverts, so I wonder why people have so little knowledge and understanding about introverts. I think it’s time to speak up, even though it’s kinda against introverted personality.😀


  3. I feel you. I’d rather stay quiet even in social gatherings than gossip about other people or tell something but it’s a lie. I’m more attracted to people who know when to speak and when to shut up. The funny thing is the extrovert people are the one who keep asking me why I’m so quiet. Of course they won’t know because they’re not introvert. Moreover, the extrovert people I’ve met can’t help but tell straight to my face that quiet people have full of angst inside them.I just wouldn’t respond to that ridiculous statement. Being an introvert finds beauty in silence. I noticed though that I tend to speak a lot when I’m surrounded by fellow introverts. I feel more at ease and trustful.


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

