10 Reasons Why LG Handphone is a Great Tool to Learn Korean

Entirely in Korean!

Entirely in Korean!

I’ve just returned home from a 10-day driving trip. I’m dead tired.

I and my family live in a town in West Java. We went to Surabaya, East Java, by car. We slept in hotel every night, we played water at the beach every day, we visited a zoo, watched a dolphin show, rode on camels and horses, and visited relatives’ homes along the way. We had great times.

But at first I didn’t want to go. A day before our departure, I told my husband I wanted to stay at home. But he said he would buy me a new smartphone so I didn’t have to part with my beloved: the internet. We went to the mall that night and he bought me my first smartphone: an LG Optimus, LG-P713. It cost him 2,499,000 rupiah. 高い~ 自分では買わないな。パパ、ありがとう。

I was listening to K-pop.

I was listening to K-pop during the trip.

I didn’t do any research before we decided to get this cell phone, but now I can see that it’s a perfect tool for Korean immersion without living in Korea. Why? Because…

1. I can change the entire language of the phone to Korean.
Not all cell phone has this feature.

Setting > Language and Input

Setting > Language and Input > 한국어

2. I can write hangul with my finger on the screen with the built-in LG keyboard. So I can practice writing hangul, type faster, and I don’t have to remember the hangul keyboard layout.

I installed Google Hangul Keyboard but uninstalled it, because with the writing panel, the LG keyboard is much better. (Make sure you’ve turned on 필기 입력)

Choose the language.

There’s even Bahasa Indonesia, but no Japanese.

But because I also type in Japanese, I have to keep changing the keyboard setting from Korean to Google Japanese Input, which is troublesome.

Google Japanese Input on Android
Google Japanese Input keyboard ↑

Because with my laptop, I only use one keyboard for both Korean and Japanese (with Google Japanese Input). Not only for Japanese, I type in romanization for Korean also. Typing in romanization is great because that way I never misspell hangul even when I was still a beginner.

I can tap hangul letters with the LG phone if I want to, though.


3. It works as an electronic dictionary. I always wanted a 전자 사전!

I installed an offline Korean-Japanese dictionary. Now I can look up words everywhere, while watching TV or reading a book, for example. I don’t have to rush to my laptop to find meaning of words.

4. It works as a portable audio player for Korean podcasts and K-pop songs. More Korean immersion.

5. I can read Korean e-books on my smartphone. I downloaded an app called Ridibook (I think I can buy Korean e-books with it but I haven’t tried), Naver Webtoon, and I can read K-Wave magazine pdf files with my smartphone.

6. I can listen to Korean radio and TV broadcasts for free. Arirang, MBC, SBS, KBS, SayCast. There are apps for that!

7. I can review words more often with flash card apps. There’s one built-in with the dictionary I dowloaded, and also with Daum and Naver online dictionaries.

8. There’s a voice recorder to listen to myself speaking Korean. (I haven’t tried it, but I will).

9.  There’s a built-in timer to time and record my speed when reading Korean. (I will try this type of reading exercise soon. It’s from a new textbook).

10. I can download a lot of language learning apps. I downloaded a free app: EBS 여행영어 to learn Korean expressions.

It’s my first smartphone so I can’t compare with smartphones from Samsung or other companies, but I’m glad I got an LG. ###

18 thoughts on “10 Reasons Why LG Handphone is a Great Tool to Learn Korean

  1. I’m pretty sure that this is also possible with other Android-run smartphones whether it be LG, Samsung, HTC, Sony Xperia, etc… but glad that you’re happy with your phone. Try to download Korean Dict app, it’s offline, and includes Korean-English, Korean-Korean, Hanja, etc.


    • Korean Dict app? I’ll search. Thank you. Not every cellphone can display hangul correctly. My husband owns a Lenovo and a Nokia, both can’t be set to Korean. The Lenovo one can’t even display hangul on its browser. I have friends told me their Samsung phones can display hangul but don’t have built-in hangul keyboard. I’ve heard LG is the only brand with built-in Korean for the entire OS and keyboard, but I’m not too sure about it, either.😉


  2. says:

    I’ve had a blackberry and I now have a samsung and it also displays Korean perfectly :p nice to see that you like your newphone and I totally agree with using it as a 전자사전 ㅋㅋ and thanks for the dictionnary advice josephacena🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • says:

      Yeah! Since I have my phone I’ve been using it a lot for this purpose! I have built in Korean keyboard and interface ! And btw I cant find the dictionnary he talked about! I guess I’ll have to stay with the one I have now (it’s not offline though;;)


    • says:

      oh yeah ! I had that one but I don’t like it… it almost never finds what I want -_-!! I really want the one that you have on your LG (diodict) this one is really nice and I’m still looking for a way to get it (cuz it’s not free on samsungs!!!?:()


  3. Kepundung says:

    Congratz Mba, I want to switch my Blackberry into Samsung for it doesn’t provide hangeul input keyboard. Samsung has it, and we are able to switch the language input text while typing. Samsung is still that expensive and I have to wait longer to save money..hmnn


  4. Congrats on getting your smartphone~ Based on my experience, Samsung has built-in 한글 keyboard too and it’s easy to switch between languages.. I guess it’s similar with LG since they are tough competitors in Korea, I think? Your offline dictionary seems interesting, but since I don’t know Japanese yet, I can’t use it (but maybe in the future I may)…

    If you are looking for another offline dictionary, maybe the one Joseph was talking about is the same as mine.. I downloaded it for my iPod touch. It’s called “Dict Box” and its icon is a book with KOREAN 사전 written on it.🙂


  5. I also have an LG. An old one. Before smartphones. I actually have 2. One is what I use in the Philippines. I love it because I can change the language to Korean. As you’ve said, not all phones can do that. I can also type in Korean, Been using it for 3 years now. I also use an LG phone in Korea. An old one. Not even a touch screen. But it comes pre-installed with basic dictionary that’s why I love it.

    I’m planning to get a Samsung Galaxy when I get back to Korea.🙂 I believe Samsung also have those features now.🙂


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

