Reviewing (복습) is Important

The book says 「語学は復習が大切」

I’m reading a Japanese book about learning foreign languages -and neglecting learning the foreign language itself haha-.

Quoting the author from the book:
語学は時間がかかる、いや、かけなければならない。では、どこに時間をかければよいのか。それはメインテナンス、つまり知識を維持するための復習に対して、である。

“Learning a language takes time, no, you should put in (a lot of) time. At what aspect should you put in your time? At “maintenance”. In other words, you should put time in reviewing or maintaining your knowledge about the language.”

Wow, obviously I should do some maintenance with my English, too. But anyway, I agree with the author, because if I don’t review my Korean vocabulary, I forget. I’m sure you, too, know this by experience.

So don’t just read and read.

Put in time to review and keep what you’ve already learned.

Make your own system to review words and sentences. Some people use Anki, some people write new words in a special notebook, some people makes notes in dictionaries to review later, etc.

As for me, right now I’m happy with 단어장 (vocab list) function in the electronic dictionary on my smartphone. I keep my new words in separate lists, no more than 25-30 words per list, because if there are too many words in it, I get lazy to review it.

Actually I’m just glad that the advice that language learners should put in a lot of time to review is written in a book. I was worried that I’m doing it wrong and I’m progressing too slow. And yeah, happy to know reviewing is important. 😉

If you’re interested in the book:
語学はやり直せる! (角川oneテーマ21) [新書] ¥720
黒田 龍之助 (著)
出版社: 角川書店 (2008/02)
ISBN-10: 4047101265
ISBN-13: 978-4047101265

Learning a language is a long journey, sometimes it’s comforting to have a book like this to keep you company. ###

9 thoughts on “Reviewing (복습) is Important

  1. And I just finished reblogging and commenting on a post saying that I need to be more diligent with reviewing, haha. It’s definitely important- especially for retention. I should review some grammar rules for English too… >.> It’s my first language, but I subconsciously know the more complex grammar rules. I want to be able to explain them to someone studying English and not just go, “You know (Haha U-Know) what… I don’t know either.” XD

    Like

  2. Hi there. I have been learning korean words for a few weeks now and at first when I would listen to Koreans speaking all of the words ran together and all of the individual words sounded the same. But now I’be been doing anki for a few weeks I am naturally picking up the subtle differences between the words and I can already pick out a few words here and there when listening to the radio. Also when going about my day I will randomly either think of a korean word that I know, or in response to a situation I will think of the proper korean response. Does this mean that my studying is working? Do you think I’m on the right track? It’s just amazing how the brain works isn’t it? 🙂

    Like

  3. “As for me, right now I’m happy with 단어장 (vocab list) function in the electronic dictionary on my smartphone. I keep my new words in separate lists, no more than 25-30 words per list, because if there are too many words in it, I get lazy to review it.”

    what electronic dictionary do u use? i’m interested to try it too. is it available on android as an app?

    Like

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

