Just Stick to It

NHK E-Textbook

I heard a success story of a self-taught Korean learner, and in the interview she said she was lazy and she never studied at all. She was a drama addict so all she did was making transcription of episodes she liked. That simple.

I thought, wait, what? That’s not “studying”? Isn’t making transcription from a Korean drama the hardest thing to do? I mean, even after 2 years of studying every day, I’m still having hard time understanding dramas with my ears only, let alone making transcription. To think I should do it from the very beginning is just scary. If I had to do it, it would stop my Korean learning dead in its track. I’d just give up. So I don’t think she was being lazy at all. She just refused to call what she was doing “studying” because she enjoyed doing it.

Actually, “dictation” (받아쓰기) is a type of training method that I think I should do, but I never do because I’m just too lazy. But I’m not lazy doing other things. Every day I read aloud , I do shadowing (I really like my voice when I speak Korean ㅋㅋ), I read my grammar book, I watch Korean news on KBS (and realize I still have a very long way to go, lack of vocabulary!), I train my ears using audio CD from my textbook, and I study K-pop song lyrics from Daum chart. And I do all things I do because I enjoy it. I don’t torture myself by doing things I don’t want to do. I still call it “studying”, though. Semantic problem?

But anyway, she believed it is possible to master Korean by just doing things the learner likes doing. And you know what, I agree with her.

So it’s safe to ignore all the methods that you don’t feel like doing. I like shadowing, and it’s working for me, but you don’t have to do it if you don’t want to! Find other ways that suit you. Learning doesn’t have to be painful. If you stick to it, you will be good at Korean eventually.

So maybe the question is how to stick to it for 5 years (because I give myself 5 years to master Korean), how not to stop before you reach fluency, and the good thing is, we already know that the answer is by having fun along the way. 그렇지요? ^^ ###

6 thoughts on “Just Stick to It

  1. I totally agree! I “study” by talking to other Koreans in Korean everyday (on Kakaotalk.. Not many opportunities for face-to-face practice) and although sometimes I feel it’s inadequate and that I should do more textbook-based learning, I have to say that BECAUSE of doing this, my Korean (although still quite bad) has improved greatly as opposed to when I was studying with only using textbooks. It’s all about doing what you like and doing it continuously!

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Korea in My Heart/한국을 내 마음에서 있어 and commented:
    Usually I meet them randomly and give them my ID, they give me theirs, or I have their number and Kakaotalk automatically adds them for me. But when you have someone’s number, you have to make sure it’s set in the right format! For example, having a number looking like +346678997655 will not get the person automatically added. It has to be in the +56 (225) 777-3345 format. Try that and see if she pops up after a few minutes!

    Like

  3. Usually I meet them randomly and give them my ID, they give me theirs, or I have their number and Kakaotalk automatically adds them for me. But when you have someone’s number, you have to make sure it’s set in the right format! For example, having a number looking like +346678997655 will not get the person automatically added. It has to be in the +56 (225) 777-3345 format. Try that and see if she pops up after a few minutes!

    Like

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

