My Korean Phrasebook Collection

What do I do with my speaking skills?

I memorize phrasebooks.


For example I saw this in my phrasebook: ‘Do you have English translations of any famous Korean authors?’

I tell myself, wow, great, I want to know how to say it in Korean.

The Korean sentence is this: “유명한 한국 작가 작품 중에서 영어로 번역된 것이 있어요?”

I analyze the words and grammatical rules, using Google Translate, Naver dictionaries, and a Korean grammar dictionary.

And then I memorize it.

I read them out loud to myself.

I listen to the audio CD for correct pronunciation + listening practice.

I told myself,”Now you know how to say ‘Do you have English translations of any famous Korean authors?’ in Korean! That’s so awesome! Say it again!”

“유명한 한국 작가 작품 중에서 영어로 번역된 게 있어요?”

Wow, I sound so cool in Korean! cool

That’s how I study using Korean phrasebooks.

This is my ever-growing Korean phrasebook collection.

Korean Phrasebooks

Korean Phrasebooks

This is the one I’m reading.

対話例から学ぶ会話術 韓国語の対話の技術 HANA韓国語教育研究会 著 アルク出版 2000円+税


First, they give you the Korean phrase: 거짓말도 그럴 듯하게 하시죠. (嘘もそれっぽく言ってよね). “If you want to lie, do it properly”. And then there is a sample conversation, and a little further explanation about the phrase in the grey box. And it has a CD.

This book is for intermediate level and above, really helpful to understand conversations in Korean dramas. I might never use these phrases myself because I don’t live in Korea and I never meet any Korean in person, but it doesn’t matter. Well, OK, it does matter, but it doesn’t bother me. I find joy in knowing and understanding. And speaking to myself in Korean.😉

By the way,when I bought this book last year, I felt the CD was too fast and the words used were too difficult, but now I find it “accessible”. So, that’s how I know my Korean is improving. Woohoo!

Phrasebooks are helpful. You should have one or two. As you can see in the picture, I have 12. ###

6 thoughts on “My Korean Phrasebook Collection

  1. Caniche says:

    That seems like a really nice method! I have two books of the 日本語単語スピードマスターseries, which I think are from the same publisher of yourすぐに使える韓国語会話 book. I’ll begin using them as “speaking practice”. I usually just force myself to repeat after some actors in dramas, but practicing with the sentence written down may provide a good complement to other parts of the language like reading, spelling and grammar.
    (What I also like about these series is that they provide four language translations, so you can reuse them when you pick another featured language. “Older sibling” inheritance.)


    • Sounds like a good strategy! I didn’t care about word books when I was learning Japanese because I thought I had to learn all kind of words anyway, but now I really like them for learning Korean. Word books give you attainable targets and give you ideas of which are frequently used words that you should learn first, and the rest later.


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

