Reading Aloud (음독)

I have been self-studying Korean for 2 years, right now I’m teaching myself TOPIK level 5, and here is my advice for fellow self-learners: you should read aloud. “Reading aloud” is 음독 (音読, eum-dok) in Korean.

Below you can hear me reading aloud some sentences from Korean Vocabulary Practice for Foreigners – Advanced Level, trying to make sense of the meaning. Maybe if you hear me doing it, it will inspire you to do the same.

While I was studying Korean and recording this, my children were watching Sofia the First on Disney Junior. A lot of noise in the background. ;P

The book doesn’t come with audio CD so I couldn’t do “shadowing” and just read it ‘my way’, with heavy Indonesian accent and not-so-perfect pronunciation. ;P But I always have fun reading aloud Korean and I can tell that my Korean is improving. Hopefully, someday I will sound like an ajumma from Seoul. Hahaha. 열심히 연습할게요. (I will practice hard).

가르다 1. to divide 2. to cut with blade 3. to split

아이들이 편을 셋으로 갈라서 놀이를 했다.
The children decided to divide into three different teams and played.

생선의 배를 가르고 내장을 뺐다.
The fish’s stomach was cut in order to take out the innards.

화살이 과녁을 향하여 바람을 가르고 날아갔다.
The arrow split the air as it flew towards the target.

가리다1  to cover

나는 너무 무서워서 손으로 두 눈을 가려 버렸다.
I was so scared that I covered my eyes with my hands.

그는 모자로 얼굴을 가리고 나무 그늘에서 낮잠을 자고 있었다.
That person covered his face with his hat and slept underneath the shade of a tree.

So, read aloud, guys. Trust me. It works. ###

11 thoughts on “Reading Aloud (음독)

  1. Wow! your pronounce is excellent! 저도 한 번 녹음을 해 보았어요.

    제가 듣기엔 비슷한 것 같은데~~
    혹시 다른 것도 필요하시면 문장을 주시면 읽어드릴게요.🙂 (부끄럽네요. ㅎㅎㅎ)


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

