Finished Two Books

My husband is having a week off of work. He’s the type of person who can not stay at home and just relax so we’ve been going out every day. One day I told him I didn’t want to go anywhere, I was too tired. I thought he would just give up and go alone because it’s hard to travel with children, but no, that day he took our children to a theme park, Trans Studio, in Bandung -which is out of town- by himself.

다 읽었어요.

다 읽었어요.

Related to studying Korean, I finished these 2 textbooks, finally:
– Live from Seoul
– 秘密にしていた話 (compilation of essays).
These books are written in Japanese and published in Japan, so maybe nobody cares, but I’m going to write about them anyway.
Both came with audio CD, so basically I used them to train my listening comprehension skill. I would suggest these books for people who have finished intermediate level and above.

Live from Seoul is a compilation of conversations of real people (most of them between a customer and a shop assistant), not professional narrators, at places you might visit if you travel to Seoul. Really fast because they didn’t slow things down for foreigners.

Chapter 1: Hotel (checking in, checking out, and PR information from the hotel manager)

2. Asking information at a tourism center, buying tickets to watch JUMP, listening to information from a guide at Daejanggeum Theme Park (but this place is closed now:

3. Ordering a pair of glasses. Buying Han-yak (Korean herbal medicine).

4. Listening about palace cuisine. Listening about Korean traditional tea. Ordering food at Korean restaurant.

5. Listening explanation at a esthetic sauna.

6. Going to a fortune teller. Going to a Korean traditional doctor.

7. Asking information about classes at Ganada Korean Center.

8. Announcements at subway trains and stations.

Interesting, right? Because the conversations happen between someone who provides a service and a customer, all of the sentences use very formal and polite tone (-hamnida and –haseyo form). There were people who said that –hamnida form was not really useful, but if you’re in Korea as a tourist, this could be the only type you will need to master.
(What are the odds that I will become really close to a Korean that I can use banmal/informal tone with him? I’d say zero. What are the odds that I will even go to Korea? Right now? Hmm, zero.)

The other book, 秘密にしていた話 (it’s a compilation of essays in Korean) is also great because it comes with an audio CD. It’s basically a bilingual book with audio CD in Korean. No listening comprehension questions, which is great, because I never liked them at school. The vocabulary used is just as difficult as the one used in a novel, but because it was read to me, I really enjoyed it. ###

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

