My New Headset

저는 헤드셋을 쓰고 한국어 듣기 연습을 해요.

저는 헤드셋을 쓰고 한국어 듣기 연습을 해요. = I use a headset for Korean listening practices.

This conversation happened in English because I speak English with my husband sometimes. We’re both Indonesians.

I told my husband: I don’t have any friends. I wonder why it doesn’t bother me.

My husband: You’re so pathetic. You need to go out more and make friends.

I thought about what he said for a while. Pathetic? And then I told him: I don’t feel pathetic at all. I’m just happy. Partly because I don’t have any friends. It’s so liberating. I don’t have to worry about people’s opinion about me.

My husband: Oh God, you’re so weird.

I wanted to say: Yes, maybe. But you’re weirder because you love me! but he already left.

That day I asked him to buy me a new headset because my old one is broken. He got me a Philips PC headset SHMI900 200,000 rupiah. I love it. It’s huge!

I suspect that my husband makes it his life mission to make me happy. So maybe that’s also why I feel fine without friends. Because I already have him as my best friend.

Actually, this post is initially written just to tell you that I got a new headset to study Korean. ###

4 thoughts on “My New Headset

  1. I totally get what you mean about the liberation from other peoples’ judgements!! I only have about 2 close friends, and purposely keep a distance from others unless I feel an instant connection with them. It’s just good to be able to spend time how you want to, as opposed to going out with people you aren’t actually close to🙂


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

