I Failed

3일이나 걸렸는데...

A few months ago I bought and studied Korean with this book: KBSの韓国語標準発音と朗読. It’s originally a book about Korean standard pronunciation published in Korea for native Korean which is republished in Japan with Japanese translation intended for advanced Korean learners. It is basically a compilation of short stories, news, poems, etc. with audio CD narrated by KBS announcers.

The first time I studied with it, I got to page 33 but quit because it was really hard, even with translation, and I got sick of it.

Then, three days ago, I thought maybe now my Korean was good enough to finally read the book again. I picked a 1-minute news to study.

The first day, I listened and read the script. I felt the audio was still too fast for me, but I memorized the new words.

Day 2, I tried again. Some parts started to make sense but still couldn’t understand 100%. I tried writing the new words over and over, thinking maybe it was because they were not really stuck in brain. Tried shadowing but failed. Too fast to listen to, too fast to repeat.

Day 3, I tried again. Listening, shadowing, dictation. Failed all attempts. Maybe because I couldn’t concentrate or something, but it was still too fast for me. *sigh.
I copied the script to my notebook just so it wouldn’t be a complete failure.

Tomorrow I will study with something easier.


After all, tomorrow is another day. (Gone with the Wind)
In Japanese it’s translated as 明日は明日の風が吹く。Literally: tomorrow’s wind will blow tomorrow.
How is it translated into Korean? 내일은 내일의 태양이 뜰 거야.
Literally: tomorrow’s sun will rise tomorrow. ###

10 thoughts on “I Failed

  1. Even though you didn’t understand 100%, you understood some and got something out of the books (which seem really helpful/interesting by the way) so, in my opinion, it wasn’t a failure.🙂 It just wasn’t 100% successful. Partial successes are worth celebrating too and like you said tomorrow is a new day. Eventually, that book won’t feel so challenging.


    • 앗. 이제야 봤어요. 미안해요. ㅠㅠ
      코가 납작해지다 라는 건 주로 남에게 쓰긴하는데요. 누군가 자신보다 센/대단한 상대를 만나 풀이 죽었을 때 코가 납작해졌다고 하거든요. 자신을 지칭하면 조금 부자연스럽기도 할 것 같아요. 대신, 내가 누군가에게 사용하는 건 자연스러워요.
      예를 들어 상대방에게 ‘코를 납작하게 해 주겠어!’ 라는 표현은 흔히 사용한답니다.


  2. Zwolk says:

    Finding stones in the middle of the path is something we face in everyday situations and learning Korean is not an exception. If you find it difficult know, don’t get frustrated. Just leave it apart and focus on something else. Keep learning new grammar and vocabulary and suddenly you’ll find it achievable. That day all the worries and difficult attempts will vanish and you’ll feel like the queen of the world and that nothing can’t stop you. Go for it!🙂


    • Zwolk says:

      Gosh, I’ve just realised that I wrote «know» instead of «now». As you see we all have our good and bad days.

      P.S. I don’t know why I always have to follow again all the blogs I like when I use the reader in my mobile phone. Sorry if you get messages informing that I’m following you almost every week. I’ll try to figure out what’s going on and I’ll try to solve it asap.


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

