Does Not Worth? Is Not Worth? 몰라~

안녕하세요. It’s weekend! I plan to go to a bookstore today.
I’ve done my studying load for today. Today was easy.
Hey, why do I use the word ‘today’ so much?

Changing the subject…

I’m a member of an e-list for Indonesian parents/educators, and there’s a school teacher who likes inserting at least one English sentence in her e-mails. Even though we’re all Indonesians in the e-list. (So not fair! I want to insert one or two Korean sentences in my e-mails, too!). An expression that she used over and over again was: “it doesn’t worth it.” One day I replied to her e-mail. I told her, isn’t the correct form “it’s not worth it”? And then a long discussion about “worth” began. But apparently I lost the argument because there was a man who passionately defended the teacher.

His arguments were:
-he had a PhD and currently lived in London so he knew more than I could possibly do (I’m only an ordinary Indonesian housewife living in Indonesia)
-I wrote that you couldn’t use it for TOEFL writing test, but actually no one should count on TOEFL to learn English because English language is living and changing…
-dictionaries are changing, too, you know
-people in Phillipines, Malaysia, Singapore, and Thailand use “it doesn’t worth it” (and I wouldn’t know about it because I don’t know any Thai, Malaysian, Singaporean… I’ve never even been to those wonderful countries.).
-etc. etc. (it was a very long e-mail) but his point was I was completely wrong.

He’s right about that I know nothing about English grammar (you’re reading my blog, you know my grammar is messed up), but I’m not convinced and still think it’s wrong to use “it doesn’t worth it”. Even though a school teacher and a PhD who lives in London use it. Oh, well.

Have a nice weekend. 주말 잘 보내요. I know I will because I will see tons of books! Bye! ###

17 thoughts on “Does Not Worth? Is Not Worth? 몰라~

  1. Just to clarify, “It doesn’t worth it” is seen as grammatically wrong in the Philippines. I wonder who told you that we use that. Perhaps British people use it and consider it grammatically correct. Have a great day!


  2. Caniche says:

    Hum… If only he had googled “worth”, a dictionary entry would have appeared with the expression “be worth”. ^^ The worst part about being so convinced you are right, is that you end up missing the chance to learn.

    On another note, your method of setting up a challenge for a certain number of days looks like a very good idea! It less overwhelming to divide things in smaller pieces than to face the 90 grammar points at the same time scenario. ^^


    • “The worst part about being so convinced you are right, is that you end up missing the chance to learn.” >> Exactly! One grammar a day is not overwhelming. Two or more is. I tried 2, I couldn’t do it. I just thought that I had to start tackling advanced grammar somehow, anyhow.


  3. siobhanstollznow1994 says:

    While I agree that the sentence makes NO sense (I speak Australian english … with some retarded American accent cause i lived there as a baby for a few years

    But there is truth to his argument, that the English language is evolving and changing over time.
    I took a linguistics class which basically said that languages change over time. Look at Korean. New words are being added and changed by the day.
    Awesome used to mean a bad thing, but now its a good thing.
    Then take a look at England, America and Australia. We all have our own ways of speaking in English, and English is our native tongue.

    Basically, like how we are all claiming that we speak American English, British English etc, there is also such a thing as Korean English (konglish) and therefore the same applies to Phillipines etc. They will have their own way of saying the same sentence. Doesn’t mean they are necessarily wrong.

    Yes it is good to try and correct her, so she can learn the more standard approach (standard being american etc), but yeh…

    Please don’t take this the wrong way:/ Like, I think it is good you were trying to help her and all

    But that is strange for a British person to say that…


    • He’s not British, just an Indonesian who lives in London. I agree with you, language is changing. Maybe someday “worth” will be a verb in the future, who knows, but I’m just relieved that today it’s still not. Thank you.


  4. As a Malaysian living in Singapore, I can vouch that ‘it doesn’t worth it’ is not used. In fact, it is acknowledge as ‘broken English’. That male individual is just grasping at straws to shore up his weak arguments.😛


  5. Umm as a Malaysian I don’t think “it doesn’t worth it” is right in any way. I kinda think it’s funny that he tried his best to prove that he’s right by mentioning the name of other countries and claimed that these countries use them haha maybe it’s just me x)


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

