My May Book Haul – Jakarta Book Fair 2014

“Jakarta Book Fair 2014” is being held at Istora Senayan May 23 – June 1 2014 (10.00 a.m – 9.00 p.m). With huge discounts at every booth, everything there is so cheap, it is heaven for book lovers.

Yesterday, my husband drove me there, gave me some money to buy books, and let me look around with my sister while he and my mother took care of our children. Isn’t he such a sweetheart?

Periplus

I and my sister went straight to a booth that sold imported books, -Periplus Bookstore (http://periplus.com/) – and we spent all our money there. It’s very rare to find new imported books in English for prices from Rp 15,000 to Rp 25,000 in Indonesia. The books were insanely cheap.

Let me show you my haul, then!

Please Look After Mom by Kyung Sook Shin

Please Look After Mom, English translation of 엄마를 부탁해 by 신경숙. The Korean e-book is $5 on Google Play.

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce. I’ve been wanting to read it since I saw that the Korean translation (해럴드 프라이의 놀라운 순례) had made it to best-seller list in Korea.

Hector and the Search for Lost Time by Francois Lelord

Hector and the Search for Lost Time by Francois Lelord. Another book by the author -Hector and the Search for Happiness- made best-seller list in Korea (꾸뻬 씨의 행복 여행). I assume this book also follows the same formula so it must be just as good.

The Perfect Gentleman by Imran Ahmad

The Perfect Gentleman: A Muslim Boy Meets the West by Imran Ahmad. Memoir and essay is my favorite genre so I’m naturally attracted to this book. The cover says “funny”. I like funny.

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel by Deborah Moggach

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel by Deborah Moggach. It’s a novel with movie tie-in cover. You can’t go wrong with a novel which has been made into a movie.

Where We Belong by Emily Giffin

Where We Belong by Emily Giffin. Large print edition. I will never buy a large print edition for a chick-lit novel because those books are too expensive. So happy I could get it with the low price.

I've Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella. Large print edition. Another chick-lit.

V is for Vulnerable by Seth Godin and Hugh MacLeod

V is for Vulnerable by Seth Godin and Hugh MacLeod. It’s a picture book for adults which is supposed to be motivational. I read it in like 5 minutes. Yeah, I’m dumb. I didn’t get it. My son (7) had a good time, though. He laughed and made his own jokes -that I didn’t understand- while I was reading the book to him. Maybe he found it amusing that I read a book about alphabet.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl, which is a middle-grade book, I think? The price tag said Rp 49,000 which was already cheaper than usual but all books at the Periplus booth got another 50% off from the price tag. My 10-year-old daughter can read English, but I never saw her read novels before. At first I was worried it would be too difficult for her but she enjoys the book and she is already half way through with it. Maybe it helps that she already watched the movie.

Gold by Chris Cleave

Gold by Chris Cleave. There are so many editions of this book so I assume it must be good.

That’s all!

Book Haul from Jakarta Book Fair 2014

Actually I bought one other book as a gift for my sister and 3 activity books for my children but I didn’t have the chance to take pictures of them. Not important, anyway.

There were books I let go because I ran out of cash that my husband gave me. Haha. They were: Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life by Karen Armstrong, The Mistery of Mercy Close by Marian Keyes, Astray by Emma Donoghue, and The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker. Maybe next time. By the way, I’m on page 30 of Hector and the Search for Lost Time and I’m loving it.

So if you love books and have time to go to Jakarta Book Fair, you really should go! There’s still time until June 1. ###

9 thoughts on “My May Book Haul – Jakarta Book Fair 2014

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

