My Book Haul – June 2014


Yesterday was the last day of Jakarta Book Fair so I asked my husband whether we could go there again to get more English books with bargain price. He said OK. I made good use of the money he gave me. Six novels for 118,000 rupiah ($ 10). New. Not second-hand ones. You can’t see me but I’m smiling right now. Very happy looking at my beautiful new books.

Let me introduce you to each of them!

The Mystery of Merci Close by Marian Keyes

Book no. 1, the one I left behind the first time because I didn’t have enough money: The Mystery of Merci Close by Marian Keyes. It’s about a romantic relationship of a private investigator Helen Walsh. It’s supposed to be a funny chicklit novel and the store gave a “Bestseller” label on it so I hope I will like it. It even got endorsement from Jojo Moyes. Speaking of which, I’m still waiting for the novel Me Before You by Jojo Moyes to come in the mail.

One Summer by David Baldacci

Next, One Summer by David Baldacci. I picked it up just because there was the word “summer” in its title. Because it’s time for summer reading! On another part of the world. My country Indonesia is hot all year long.

The book is about a terminally ill father/husband trying to reunite his family (children) after his wife died, over one unforgettable summer. So, family drama.

A Second Wind by Philippe Pozzo di Borgo

A Second Wind by Philippe Pozzo di Borgo, translated from French by Will Hobson. I tend to pick a novel with a movie tie-in cover because there is less risk of getting a disappointing book when people thought it was so great they needed to adapt it into a movie. The cover says that this book is the true story that inspired the movie The Intouchables that I’ve never heard of.

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel, which is a winner of the Man Booker Prize and Costa Book Award. A historical novel of the noble families of England. Looks so complicated with charts of family trees and cast of characters. Not confident whether I can handle this or not. I will save this one for last.

Demons and Druids by James Patterson and Adam Sadler

Demons and Druids by James Patterson and Adam Sadler, one of the Daniel X series. A children story about alien hunter.

Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead

Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead, author of Newbery Medal Winner “When You Reach Me”.

Book Haul June 2014

Even now, there are still so many English words I need to learn so I read slowly and I look up every word I don’t know with my electronic dictionary. Because that’s the way I enjoy my reading. In English.

That’s also how I enjoy my reading in Korean. I’ll be reading 미녀와 야수 (Beauty and the Beast) today.

So I guess studying Korean every day is not that big of deal because it is merely reading and everybody needs to read for pleasure every day anyway, right? ###

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

