My August Book Haul

안녕하세요. 오랜만이네요. 그동안 잘 지내셨죠?

So… I started using a free Japanese online service to record my Korean learning log (http://studyplus.jp/) and that’s part of the reasons why this blog had been on a long hiatus. But I think I will start rambling here regularly again about learning Korean on my own without having any urgent need to master the language in real life other than to watch Korean TV. And not even that, because M-Net and KBS World in Indonesia have subtitles in Indonesian.

Since I don’t know what else to ramble about today I’m going to show you books I got to entertain me this month. Some are Korean-language-learning-related.

My August Book Haul 2014

My August Book Haul 2014

First, I got “hana” vol. 02. “hana” is a Japanese magazine for Korean language learners. In Japanese, of course. I bought it from Neowing, along with ONE OK ROCK’s new single Mighty Long Fall/Decision. This magazine is useful for intermediate learners who try to move up to advanced level (me). I think this magazine is for people who really like studying alone. Like me. Most of the contents are real-life level and I feel like it’s a little more difficult than TOPIK II, but with complete translation and explanation in Japanese. Maybe someday I’ll show you what’s inside. It comes with CD.

hana韓国語学習ジャーナルVol.02

hana韓国語学習ジャーナルVol.02

Mighty Long Fall/Decision - ONE OK ROCK

Mighty Long Fall/Decision – ONE OK ROCK

And then, I got this novel in English, translated from Korean.

Our Happy Time by Gong Ji-Young, translated from Korean by Sora Kim Russell

Our Happy Time by Gong Ji-Young, translated from Korean by Sora Kim Russell

I already own the original Korean version of Our Happy Time by Gong Ji-Young in e-book, bought from Google Play (it was about 4 or 5 dollars, cheap). The Korean title is 우리들의 행복한 시간. I skimmed the book, it seems there will be a lot of tears.

우리들의 행복한 시간 - 공지영

우리들의 행복한 시간 –
공지영

I ordered “Me Before You” back in May from Book Depository because the Korean translated version of it was a bestseller in Korea. The book I ordered lost in the mail and never came (I sent a complaint to Indonesia postal service website and I asked the postman when he delivered other letters). I contacted Book Depository and they sent me a free replacement copy and I finally got the book.

Me Before You - Jojo Moyes

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

And then, my sister gave me these 2 fantasy books even though I told her I probably would never read them. Fantasy is just not my cup of tea. I couldn’t even finish Harry Potter (the books and the movies).

Inheritance by Christopher Paolini

Inheritance by Christopher Paolini

I remember I read that Christopher Paolini was homeschooled.

Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident by Eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident by Eoin Colfer

And I bought this homeschooling guidebook by Linda Dobson because my husband decided to homeschool our 5-year-old daughter this academic year, which has just started this Monday. It’s very likely that he will send her to kindergarten soon (will he even make us homeschool for a year?) but right now I’m enjoying the book because I love parenting books. School or no school, I’m the one who has to teach her to read anyway.

Homeschooling the Early Years by Linda Dobson

Homeschooling the Early Years by Linda Dobson

That’s all. I hope you’re reading something good. Have a nice weekend. ###

My August Book Haul”에 대한 8개의 생각

    • Hi, you’re so sweet, like your handle name.^^ About the Japanese site, first, you register books you own, then you fill the lenghth of time and number of pages you read every time you study, with your comment. And then your friends click Like, just like Facebook, but for learners. The site will make visual data (graphs) on how much you have studied and with which books.

      좋아하기

  1. I hope I can find hana magazine in a store one day so I can look through it. You’ve gotten me interested in it now. I remember Artemis Fowl!!! It was one of my favorite series growing up. I need to reread the books and try to complete my collection. The Inheritance series is something I always wanted to read, but never got through for some reason. Probably because back in the day I would borrow lots of books from the library at once and just never really got the chance to get into it. I recently picked up 우리들의 행복한 시간 at the library too. Amazing how I have some connection with most of these books, haha. I’m hoping to purchase it soon so that I’ll have my own copy to take my time with and underline new words.

    좋아하기

    • If Artemis and Inheritance series are that great, I might have to read them. I have no access to local library. Wow… Korean books in your library, I’m jealous. You’re the type that ruins your books, just like me. I guess we’re connected there, too.^^ Hana is a very serious magazine, all black and white, and difficult, I actually think this magazine sells well because Japanese really like studying.

      좋아하기

  2. I read the first two books in the Inheritance series, but I haven’t gotten around to reading the last one. I loved Artemis Fowl when I was younger. My sister owns some of the books.
    Good luck with the homeschooling! I was homeschooled from preschool through high school.

    좋아하기

    • I didn’t have access to the genre when I was a child, maybe that’s why it feels unfamiliar for me. Thank you for sharing that you were homeschooled for all your childhood. It has been only 1 week for us, I hope we can do it as long as you did.

      좋아하기

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

