Korean Graded Readers: 외국인을 위한 한국어 읽기 100

43. 사랑방 손님과 어머니 - 한국어읽기연구회

43. 사랑방 손님과 어머니 – 한국어읽기연구회

https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=RtFHAwAAQBAJ (read preview pages)

Some time ago, I read about a book series written for Korean language learners called 외국인을 위한 한국어 읽기 100, published by Communication Books. I wasn’t interested at that time until I started studying from a TOPIK II preparation book from EBS. In the TOPIK book, there are passages taken from Korean classic short stories with all the difficult grammar so I thought I needed to be prepared or at least tried to read them. When I googled, I found that there were also some Korean classic short stories in the Korean graded readers (외국인을 위한 한국어 읽기 100) and each of the e-book on Google Play cost only 5 or 6 dollars. So I thought, why not, and bought one called 사랑방 손님과 어머니 (not sure how to translate it, The Man Staying in Our Guest Room and My Mother?).

The story was originally written by 주요섭, but the e-book is a rewritten version with simple Korean meant for foreigners who are learning Korean. Difficult words are given definitions in simple Korean on the same pages (and also on the last chapter recapping all the difficult words) so it is possible to read it without consulting a dictionary.

By the way, I have just finished studying with the 35th TOPIK problems today and I didn’t find any classic literary work or advanced-level grammar at all. Maybe the EBS book is a little more difficult than the real TOPIK (?).

But anyway, I read the e-book I bought on Google Play, thinking it might take me a week to finish because I read aloud and slowly. But it only took me 2 days to finish reading it. It had been a long time since I finished a Korean book so I was happy about it.

The book was short and easier to read than Korean novels (which are killing me, by the way). To my surprise, I cried when I was reading it out loud to myself. It was my first time crying reading something in Korean so yay!

It was a good break from difficult learning material for me, and I probably will read another book from the series soon. ###

6 thoughts on “Korean Graded Readers: 외국인을 위한 한국어 읽기 100

  1. I feel that the reading questions in the TOPIK II exam are long but still easy enough to understand. With a certain number of intermediate grammar, we can still understand the reading passages. The difficulty is how to manage time to answer all the reading questions.

    That book 외국인을 위한 한국어 읽기 100 looks interesting and useful.


    • Yes, I think intermediate grammar is enough to take the new TOPIK. I didn’t remember having to look up new grammar when I studied with the new 35th TOPIK despite the fact that I haven’t finished studying with Korean Grammar in Use – Advanced. The words are still difficult for me, though. You’re right, I agree it will be important to answer as fast as you can because the time is limited.


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

