My Korean Study Routine

“Not memorizing” is not working for me because I tried it for like a week or so and I ended up remembering nothing. What a bummer. I wanted to be as easy as people say, no effort but remember everything. Maybe it works for children or young people or people with very good memory. Maybe it works for everybody else, but me?

But, anyway, I’ve already found a study routine that works for me. And it goes like this:

First, I find that I have a free time for myself, for example when I have finished my job for the day and my children are leaving me alone with their own activities. I ask myself what it is that I really really want to do using Korean right now and then I just do it. Because I’m a book hoarder and after 3 years of learning, I have many Korean books, the question for me is usually: now, which book to read?

Whenever I find a new word (or a forgotten word that I need to relearn), I look it up on my dictionary app on my handphone.

My flash cards

My flash cards

And then I create a new folder for flash cards with the dictionary app and put the new word in the folder. I name the folder with today’s date (for example 9월 1일 월 or Monday, 1 September).

When I finish reading, I quiz myself using the flashcards in the folder. Usually I end up with 20 to 50 new words in the folder.

The next day, I quiz myself again with yesterday’s folder. And, before I delete a folder, I quiz myself for the last time.

I try not to keep more than 5 folders because it’s overwhelming for me to have so many flashcards. Which means, I will review a folder for the last time every 5 days before I delete it.

That’s how I study Korean every day. I’m happy with my way because I can see that I’m learning something new every day (23 words? Good! 잘 했다!), I can decide whatever to learn on a daily basis, no need to follow a plan or finish a book, no need to care about self-motivation, just ‘what do you want to do now?’, and just do it.

The key to continue learning a language is finding your own ways that work and enjoyable for you. So I hope you find yours, too. 그럼 안녕! 좋은 주말 보내요! Wait, tomorrow is Chuseok in Korea according to my Google Calendar so happy Chuseok? Anyway, bye! ###

6 thoughts on “My Korean Study Routine

  1. Your Korean routine seems very interesting.
    By the way, can I ask you a question? I study Korean and Mandarin Chinese for 4 years. Now I want to learn Japanese. I heard that Japanese has some characters from Chinese and Japanese grammar looks like Korean grammar. Is that true? Thank you ^^


    • Yes, that’s correct. Chinese uses more Chinese characters so Japanese kanji shouldn’t be problem for you, even though kanji usually has at least 2 ways of reading it, kun-yomi and on-yomi. The sentence pattern of Japanese is very similar to Korean. Japanese also has many onomatopoeias and idioms like Korean. I look forward reading how you proceed with learning Japanese on your blog.


  2. I’ve read this post of yours several times. Thank you for sharing. I like your process.
    I’m still looking for my own process.

    It is a few months since I discovered your website, and it is still the best resource I have found interesting ideas.


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

