Using Naver Translator to Study Korean

I’ve been trying to memorize advanced level vocabulary for TOPIK since forever and I’m still not successful at it. I keep forgetting, those words will not stick in my brain. Maybe it’s the frequency thing because they don’t appear as often as basic/intermediate level words. Maybe I still need to review and fill the gaps in my knowledge about basic and intermediate level vocabulary and also grammar. I don’t know. I have no problem in understanding when I’m studying those words but I just can’t remember. But I’m not worried, yet, because I scheduled 3 years for advanced level, so there’s still time, and actually, I can make it 4 or even 10 more years if I need to because I’m self-learning.

Today I found a new way to study using Naver Translator ( on my tablet and my vocabulary book: Korean Vocabulary Practice for Foreigners – Advanced Level – English version. When I started studying, I decided that I would learn 5 new adjectives. Just because.

Naver Translate

Naver Translator (Naver Dictionary app)

This is how I studied today: I read a sample sentence carefully, learned new words from the sentence if any, and then, by translating the English translation, I reproduced the Korean sentence and typed it into Naver Translator.

What’s great with Naver Translator is it shows me where I misspell, it gives me Japanese translation and also meaning of each word, and it reads the sentence when I click the audio button so I can also practice listening (not perfect, but OK).

My stopwatch told me I studied for 1 hour and 30 minutes. That long. No wonder I was tired. So I guess remembering, translating, and writing Korean sentences takes longer than I expected (or typing with my index finger because I used tablet, not pen and paper). Anyway, I was happy that I found a way to use the textbook again. I mean, it’s a word book, it can feel like trying to memorize difficult words from a dictionary: boring and hard to do.

By the way, I think I know another reason why I’m not worried about lack of self-motivation: I have full control over my learning. I do something just because I want to do it. It’s that simple. But when I have goals and give myself internal pressure, I make it complicated for myself, and I stop wanting to sit and study. When I feel pressure, I start to hate studying, I feel like I want to “cheat”, and do as less as possible. I don’t know why. I don’t even have a teacher.

I won’t be able to blog because my family is going on a trip by car for a couple of days. My husband’s idea. I’m terrified just thinking about the traffic.

OK, then.

I wonder if there is a good Korean sentence to end this blog post… Let’s see… I think this will do: 한해 잘 마무리하시기 바랍니다. (I hope this passing year ends well for you (?). 一年を無事に締めくくられますように。). See you in 2015! ###

4 thoughts on “Using Naver Translator to Study Korean

  1. I too use Naver translator because it pops up all the words, which are then a click away to get to the Naver dictionary definition if I want more detail. the translations are sometimes dicey, but I learn every time I stick my nose in a dictionary, and I guess that is one of my joys. ^^


    • You’re right, Naver Translator links directly to Naver Dictionary. I wasn’t aware of that because I used it on my tablet, not PC. Oops… no, that wasn’t it. I just didn’t check the words further because the Japanese translation was good enough for me.🙂


  2. I need to try Naver Translator. Google translate for the Korean language is often unhelpful. I am happy to see someone else studying the same book that I am using. I am on the intermediate level though.

    My routine is to create Memrise flashcards for the entire chapter. I use Memrise to learn the new words that I plan on studying for the day. But I also review the vocabulary from one of the chapters that I have already completed. Then I will go through the book to learn how the new words are used in a sentence. I cover up the Korean sentence and try to make my own sentence from the English sentence provided.

    I don’t know if you are a fan of Memrise, but if you click on my name you will see a few of the intermediate level flashcard packs I have created thus far. Maybe it can help you refresh your memory of the old vocab you have come across. Happy studying!!!


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

