[Korean Audio Book] 팥죽 할머니와 호랑이 (Grandma ‘Patjuk’ and the Tiger)

Grandma 'Patjuk' and the Tiger

Grandma ‘Patjuk’ and the Tiger

Audio CD, about 10 minutes long.

Audio CD, about 10 minutes long.

Grandma is growing red bean.

Grandma is growing red bean.

They killed the bad tiger.

They throw the bad tiger into the water.

Moral lesson of the story.

Moral lesson of the story.

The back cover looks like this. 7000 won.

The back cover looks like this. The price is 7000 won.

This picture book with a bonus audio CD “팥죽 할머니와 호랑이” was a gift from the online Korean shop TwoChois (http://www.twochois.com/) and the publisher of the book 예림아이 (http://www.yearim-i.co.kr/) which specializes in publishing children’s books.

I got it a long time ago, but at that time, it felt difficult for me. Even though the book is very short, only about 20 pages and with only short passages. However, it was difficult. Too many advanced level words and grammar I couldn’t find explanation for. Is it just me or 전래동화 (Korean traditional folk stories for children) tend to be difficult? I started reading it again these last couple of days and I was surprised to find it somehow had become easier for me to understand it.

It comes with a 10 minute audio CD (just like a radio drama for children) so it’s also great for listening practice.

I would say this book is challenging enough for upper intermediate and advanced level learners. Even though, in Korea, it is actually a picture book for Korean class for 2nd grade of elementary school students (written in the book).

I did a retelling of the Korean story to my children, in Indonesian, and they loved it. Maybe because the story is actually a little scary.  I mean… a man-eating tiger (!) and  the tiger gets brutally tortured before thrown into water to his death. And then, grandma and her friends eat red bean porridge together to celebrate. Of course children love it. I love it, too.

At the 2 last pages, you can find “moral of the story” and cultural background about 팥죽 (red bean porridge). The moral of the story is weak people (grandma and her friends) can beat a powerful enemy (the tiger) if they’re united.

Look, I found a video of the same story 팥죽 할머니와 호랑이 on YouTube (with slight variation of details):

팥죽 is pronounced [pat-jjuk], not [pat-juk].

팥죽 is pronounced [pat-jjuk], not [pat-juk].

Pronunciation of 팥죽: http://krdic.naver.com/detail.nhn?docid=40239700 ###

2 thoughts on “[Korean Audio Book] 팥죽 할머니와 호랑이 (Grandma ‘Patjuk’ and the Tiger)

  1. I bought a book of folk tales for children as well (5~6 grade level?) and it was next to impossible for me -_- I actually found news articles much easier somehow. When i asked my korean friend he told me that folk tales use a lot of old vocabulary and sentence structures that foreigners almost never learn so it can be pretty difficult even if the book is for young children:/ maybe it will take some time.. Haha

    I did find that the Korean reading for foreigners 100 series had folktales that were much easier to understand so I guess they must really simplify it @.@

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you for the review. Folktale is very challenging because it uses a lot of onomatopoeia and many old-fashion words that are not widely used nowadays. Therefore, I find it hard to read them. I often read newspapers or modern novels to learn new updated vocabularies. But anyway, the children book is a good way to study Korean too. I love the colorful illustrations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

