[Korean Picture Book for Children] 작은 집 이야기 (The Little House)

I love books. I love stories. I love sentences. I love words. Words are beautiful, interesting, and fun to learn.

Now I’m going to insert ‘Korean’ into these sentences because I’m learning Korean.

I love Korean books. I love Korean stories. I love Korean sentences. I love Korean words. Korean words are beautiful, interesting, and fun to learn.

I actually prefer spending my time with a book than people. This is true. Let’s not tell people.

"The Little House" by Virginia Lee Burton

“The Little House” by Virginia Lee Burton, translated by 홍연미.

옛날 아주 먼 옛날, 저 먼 시골 마을에 작은 집이 한 채 있었습니다.

옛날 아주 먼 옛날, 저 먼 시골 마을에 작은 집이 한 채 있었습니다.

기나긴 여름 날엔...

기나긴 여름 날엔…

오래지 않아 작은 집 위로 고가 전철이 지나다니기 시작했습니다.

오래지 않아 작은 집 위로 고가 전철이 지나다니기 시작했습니다.

작은 집은 이제 다시는 도시에 호기심을 느끼지 않겠지요...

작은 집은 이제 다시는 도시에 호기심을 느끼지 않겠지요…

These last 3 days, I used my spare time to re-read a picture book in Korean 작은 집 이야기 (The Story of the Little House), published by 시공주니어 (Sigong Junior). It’s originally a picture book in English called “The Little House” by Virginia Lee Burton.

The main character is a little house on a small hill in a village. The house likes where it lives and it watches the sun, the moon, and the nature changes as the day comes and goes and the season changes. Then, it watches its environment changes into a big city and he becomes unhappy. At the end of the story, the little house finds a new place to live where it’s as quiet and as beautiful as its old village.

At first I wasn’t impressed with the story, but then I did a retelling of this book, in Indonesian, to my 5-year-old daughter, for 3 days in a row, because she asked me to. She listened to me telling her the story while looking at the pictures in the book. She loves it. I think it’s a good story about ‘change’ and ‘feelings’ little children can appreciate.

In English, it’s a simple book with simple words for children, but I learned about 60 Korean words that I had forgotten since the first time I read the book. That’s a lot of words so I can’t say this book is easy for me.

By the way, forgotten words don’t bother me anymore. I used to feel bad about re-learning words. I used to have this ridiculous idea that I was supposed to remember just by learning stuff once, but now I think everything will be forgotten without enough repetitions so I just need to focus on making sure the repetitions happen.

Note:

산골 마을 means ‘village in the mountains’, and 산골 is pronounced [san-kkol], not [san-gol]. I checked Naver Dictionary.

Pronunciation of 산골 in 산골 마을 is [san-kkol].

Pronunciation of 산골 in 산골 마을 is [san-kkol], not [san-gol].

(http://krdic.naver.com/detail.nhn?docid=19611400)

And 측량사 (surveyor) is pronounced [cheung-nyang-sa].

측량사 (surveyor) is pronounced [cheung-nyang-sa].]

측량사 (surveyor) is pronounced [cheung-nyang-sa].

(http://krdic.naver.com/detail.nhn?docid=38197100)

###

2 thoughts on “[Korean Picture Book for Children] 작은 집 이야기 (The Little House)

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

