Watching Korean Movie “Code Name Jackal”

One of the advantages of learning Korean in Indonesia is that you can buy DVD of Korean movies and drama at very low prices. I bought this DVD of Korean movie “Code Name Jackal” (자칼이 온다) for 17,500 rupiah (about 1476 원). This is the original/legal version one, not the pirated version, I believe, because the seller said so and the DVD has a label saying that it is. I’m happy that I found this sold at a small kiosk inside a department store.

I bought it because Kim Jae-joong is a familiar face to me. I don’t know whether it is a good movie or not. I hope it is.

Original DVD, Indonesian subtitle, Rp 17,500.

Original DVD, Indonesian subtitle, Rp 17,500.

I remember once I had an argument with someone on Facebook about learning Korean with Korean movies. I told him I wanted to learn Korean so I could watch Korean movies without subtitles someday. He said, no, we can’t learn Korean from Korean movies. I replied, of course we can, what do you mean we can’t? I learned English mostly from Hollywood movies, not by socializing with Americans? And then he told me why he believed it but I’ve forgotten his argument. Well, not important. I know we can.

Cheap looking packaging. Because it is cheap.

Cheap looking packaging. Because it is cheap. No 한글 anywhere.

So… I kinda hoped the DVD would also have subtitles in Korean/hangul because it would help me learn new words and expressions, but it doesn’t, only Indonesian and/or English subtitles.

She says 너 말이 짧다.

She says 너… 말이 짧다.

This is the last scene I watched (around 26 min.) where the female kidnapper (Song Ji-hyo) speaks to Kim Jae-joong for the first time. I clicked pause because she said, “너… 말이 짧다” (‘your word is short’) and I didn’t know the meaning of the expression. The subtitles said, “Watch it. You’re asking for it”.

I googled and found that 말이 짧다 (‘word is short’) means ‘you’re using casual language (반말)’ or ‘you should speak with polite language with me’ (with sentence ending like -습니다 and -요). Ah, so that’s why she was upset. I thought it was a little weird because it was her very first word to the man she kept hostage. So “너 말이 짧다” is like, “Watch your mouth” or “Watch your words with me” or “Watch your language”, I guess.

I will watch the rest of the movie later because now I have to go to 미용실 (=beauty salon) and have my hair cut. Bye. 안녕~ ###

7 thoughts on “Watching Korean Movie “Code Name Jackal”

  1. Pfff… of course movies can be used to learn languages. It’s a great way to get exposed to new words and expressions if you don’t just watch them mindlessly, but pay attention to what is being said… Also it’s a great way to practice hearing many different people speak.


    • You’re so right. Thank you. From movies, we can learn natural Korean expressions, and not only standard Korean, even saturi/dialect, and all kind of things we won’t learn from textbooks.
      I think if we don’t enjoy Korean movies, it’s OK skip them, but if we do enjoy them, they’re great material to learn from.


  2. Saza says:

    Aku biasanya nonton reality show semacam Running Man dan lainnya soalnya banyak captionnya (walaupun kadang bukan yang diomongin sama si pembicara) dan beberapa reality show seperti Dad Where Are You Going ada subtitle bahasa Koreanya. Bisa sekalian belajar pas lagi nonton ^-^


    • You’re right, I really like that they put hangul telop on the screen. But people in reality shows talk even faster than in the movies and watching them becomes a reading practice than listening because my listening skill is not that good. I only watch 2 TV shows, ‘Get It Beauty’ on Channel M and ‘Let’s Go! Dream Team’ on KBS World.


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

