Book Haul April 2015

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up - The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by Marie Kondo

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up – The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by Marie Kondo

Marie Kondo’s book I ordered on Book Depository has finally arrived today. So excited to read it! I will after I publish this short blog post in which I show you my to-be-read pile for April and May.

My To-Be-Read Pile

My To-Be-Read Pile

I like books but I don’t think I’m well read because I only read very limited genre, such as parenting, language learning textbooks (Japanese and Korean), essays about life in general, self-help, and one or two novels that I almost always never finish reading. Here are some language-learning related books I am and will be reading, first, this book about Korean onomatopoeia.

Korean Onomatopoeia

Korean Onomatopoeia

I think I will finish it tomorrow, and I plan to re-read. Now I realize that all brief explanation about onomatopoeia in this book is just taken/copied from Naver Dictionary (the monolingual one) and that’s why this book is difficult. In my opinion, they should be more creative and use simpler words for explanation if this book is really meant for basic level learners. But I’m not a basic level learner and I get to practice reading Naver 국어사전 by using this book, so it is fine for me and I’ve ordered the other 2 books of the same series. Hopefully will arrive by the end of May.

DVD and drama script of He's Beautiful.

DVD and drama script of He’s Beautiful.

In the meantime, before those Korean textbooks arrive, I have DVD and drama script (with Japanese translation) of Korean drama 미남이시네요 (He’s Beautiful) to study with. I first read the book 2 or 3 years ago, but Korean drama was too fast and too difficult for me back then so now finally I’ll try to read it again.

Breaking Into Japanese Literature by Michael Emerich.

Breaking Into Japanese Literature by Giles Murray.

Next, Breaking Into Japanese Literature by Giles Murray. I finally get interested in learning to read Japanese classic literature, after 18 years of learning Japanese (I can tell you that reading Japanese classics is not really necessary for fluency). This book changes the old kanji characters used in original stories into more modern, commonly used ones, so I think it’s helpful for me as a beginner because we can read these stories for free on Aozora Bunko site, but then having too look up all the obsolete kanji is just painful. And of course the English translation is available so I can compare how different Japanese and English is in conveying the same situation, and hopefully I will learn something about translation technique, even though I translate into Indonesian. Also, audio files are available for download, but I haven’t checked.

New Penguin Parallel Text - Short Stories in Japanese by Michael Emerich.

New Penguin Parallel Text – Short Stories in Japanese by Michael Emerich.

New Penguin Parallel Text – Short Stories in Japanese, edited by Michael Emerich. This one is also a bilingual Japanese – English book for advanced level, but without audio files and the short stories are more modern one written by well-known Japanese authors. This New Penguin Parallel Text series doesn’t have a Korean one, but there are books for Chinese, Spanish, French, Italian and German language. That’s all. Thank you for reading. ###

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

