[Korean Textbook Review] Bilingual “The Greatest Love” Korean Drama Photo Comic Book Vol. 1 (Japanese-Korean)

I bought a bilingual photo comic book of K-drama “The Greatest Love” or 최고의 사랑 (in Korean-Japanese) on CD Japan to study Korean with. There are 3 books in the series, each costs 1800 yen + shipping fee with EMS from Japan. At first I thought it would be too expensive to buy all books in the series so I hesitated for months before deciding to buy it, but now that I have it, I find that I love it. I think I’ll get books no. 2 and 3 when I finish it.

韓国ドラマフィルムコミック 最高の愛~恋はドゥグンドゥグン1

韓国ドラマフィルムコミック 最高の愛~恋はドゥグンドゥグン1

I haven’t watched this drama, actually. It’s hard to find a Korean drama that I like, I found Korean drama dragging and I usually gave up after a couple of episodes. So I  stopped looking for a new Korean drama to watch for many months now. But I remember a few years ago, someone told me this drama was interesting.

Drama Relationship Chart

Drama Relationship Chart

I know nothing about the drama but this photo comic book is colorful and beautiful and absolutely not boring. It’s as big as Korean Grammar In Use textbook so it’s huge, in my opinion. Not ordinary comic book size.

List of Contents

List of Contents

There are 9 chapters in the book, 255 pages.

K-drama Photo Comic Book

K-drama Photo Comic Book

All drama lines in hangul inside the book have Japanese translation and also pronunciation guide in katakana. Maybe they tried to make it appealing to beginners who can’t read hangul well yet, but personally I think this comic book is more on the advanced level side because it’s not originally published for language learners. The original photo comic book was published in South Korea (최고의 사랑 드라마 영상만화 1 on YES24 http://www.yes24.com/24/goods/5695919), but without Japanese translation, of course. On the bottom of each page, there is a note about 1 or 2 words that explains Korean slang terms that I probably will never learn from textbooks for foreigners.

진상 = very bad, not interesting (slang)

진상 = very bad, not interesting (slang)

This is a scene where the main character who is a famous actor checks netizens’ comments about his movie. One of the comments says, “진상~ 노력 좀 하자.” (It was awful. They should put some effort). You see there’s an added explanation on the bottom about the meaning of 진상 which is a slang word.

싸가지 = a jerk, a weird person (slang)

싸가지 = a twisted person, impolite guy (slang)

I first knew the slang word 싸가지 from a Korean rap lyrics, but I couldn’t find explanation for it. Finally found it in this book. Now I know that it’s actually used in conversation, too.

뭐 이런 사람이 다 있어.

뭐 이런 사람이 다 있어.

Also, I love that from the bilingual comic book, I can learn colloquial expressions that are hard to find explanation for. Like this one: 뭐 이런 사람이 다 있어? (‘Why do you act like that?’ ‘What kind of awful person are you?’ Or something like that). I love that the Japanese translation is not direct word-per-word translation, but instead, the translator translated each Korean sentence into a natural Japanese expression for the particular situation… which I think is awesome. ###

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

