[Korean Textbook Review] KBSの韓国語 対訳 正しい言葉、美しい言葉

Dust jacket from Kinokuniya Bookstore in Shinjuku

Dust jacket from Kinokuniya Bookstore in Shinjuku

My husband went to Tokyo, Japan and bought me this new Korean textbook at Kinokuniya bookstore in Shinjuku.

KBSの韓国語 対訳 正しい言葉、美しい言葉

KBSの韓国語 対訳 正しい言葉、美しい言葉 (KBS Korean – Bilingual – Correct Language, Beautiful Language) translated by 架け橋人の会

The book consists of 60 short Korean articles about correct usage of Korean language, with translation in Japanese, and also 2 CD for listening practices. I would recommend it for advanced level learners. The price is 2,300 yen + tax.

2 CD , about 2 hours in total

2 CD , about 2 hours of audio in total

The content is taken from a book published originally in Korea by KBS in 2003 which I believe is already out of print.

Learning tips for reading, listening, shadowing, and repetition.

Learning tips for reading, listening, shadowing, and repetition.

On the first 5 pages or so, you can find some tips on how to study with the book on your own, which I think is useful for people who don’t hire language teacher, like me.

This is one tip that I particularly agree with:

… まだ聞き取れる耳を持っていないのに、やみくもに「多聴」をするのは効果的な学習法とはいえません。そんな人にお勧めなのが「清聴」です。

Roughly translated:
“Extensive listening” is not effective learning method for people who don’t have enough listening skill yet. For people of such level, we would like to recommend “intensive listening”.

I agree with this because I tried “extensive listening” when I first started learning Korean, it didn’t feel helpful, it felt like a waste of time. I think it’s more effective to use audio at your level that you have already studied before if you want to listen to Korean while exercising or doing other activities.

The rest of the book look like this.

How to pronounce double patchim 'ᆲ'

How to pronounce double patchim ‘ᆲ’

Korean article on the left side, and its complete translation in Japanese on the right.

Which is the right hangul spelling for 'cardigan'?

Which is the right hangul spelling for ‘cardigan’?

This book was originally meant to teach correct usage of Korean language to native Korean so I think it’s more appropriate for advanced level learners. If you ask me, I would say all Korean books for native Korean are for advanced level (TOPIK level 5 or 6). Except for children’s books, which I think is also suitable for intermediate learners (TOPIK level 3 or 4).

However, this book also has complete translation in Japanese, so you can skip the Korean part at first and read it as reading material about Korean language in Japanese. ###

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

