I Bought Books. 책을 샀어요.

My family and I went to Kinokuniya at Plaza Senayan, Jakarta yesterday because I wanted to buy some Japanese books. I checked the store’s collection of Korean textbooks in Japanese, but to my disappointment, they only got 4 books left, which were very expensive (300,000 rupiah – 600,000 rupiah), which were so not worth the price, because they were all for basic level learners and published many years ago. 그래서 안 샀어요.

Korean textbooks in Japanese published a decade ago.

Korean textbooks in Japanese published a decade ago.

But there were some ‘bunko’ books (small and portable ones) which were on sale -50% off- so I was happy about that. I bought two. One was about how to write well 「頭がいい人」と言われる文章の書き方” by 小泉十三と日本語倶楽部 and the other one was a compilation of dialogues between 2 translators about translating (English into Japanese) 翻訳夜話 written by Haruki Murakami and Motoyuki Shibata.

Geronimo Stilton series at Intermediate Fiction section.

Geronimo Stilton series at Intermediate Fiction section.

Kinokuniya also has a huge collection of Intermediate Fiction in English that my daughter (11) likes. She picked a book of Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. And then, I went alone to a CD/DVD store “Duta Suara” because I knew they always had DVD of Japanese drama on sale, while my family was having dinner at Yoshinoya (a Japanese fast-food chain restaurant for ‘gyuudon’/beef bowl). I picked ‘Natsu no Koi wa Niji Iro ni Kagayaku’/Summer Romance Shines in Rainbow Colors (夏の恋は虹色に輝く), 50,000 rupiah. Jun Matsumoto starred in the drama so I hope it’s a good one.

Korean Drama DVD in Indonesia

Korean Drama DVD in Indonesia

There were also DVD of popular Korean drama on sale (10% and 30% off) but I already decided not to buy anything that didn’t “spark joy” for me (after-KonMari effect) because it would just end up in the dustbin. Besides, the cheapest one was 147,000 rupiah, which was not so cheap for me.

Macaron.

Macaron.

And then I had a macaron -chocolate flavor- for the first time. It was OK. Very sweet. It reminds me of an embarrassing moment 5 years ago, when I first started learning Korean, I watched a Japanese variety show on YouTube in which a Korean actor, Park Yong Ha, gave a box of macarons to the Japanese MC and so I thought that the colorful macarons were from Korea. One day I commented on a Japanese online forum, saying that macarons were from Korea, and then a Japanese replied to my comment, “Korea? Aren’t macarons from France?’. And then finally I googled. 😛 After dinner, we went to an ice skating rink at another mall: ‘Mal Taman Anggrek’.

Putting on ice skating shoes.

Putting on ice skating shoes.

I don’t skate so while my children were skating, I went to Gramedia bookstore and bought children books in Indonesian. So, here is my book haul…

Yay... books!

Yay… books!

And today, my family and I will go to a city nearby, Bandung. I am still very tired and haven’t even packed my clothes. ###

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

