Using Google Books and Google News Search for Sample Sentences

I love love love studying Korean alone, you have no idea. I just happen to be an introvert and I’m comfortable with my personality.

So I was trying to memorize 왁작왁작, an onomatopoeia from the picture book I mentioned yesterday. A search on Google Image and Naver Image wasn’t very helpful, both didn’t give me any good picture that could help me memorize that word. So I typed the word into SimSimi chat app on my tablet to see its response. SimSimi replied: 제가 모르는 말이에요. 가르쳐주세요. (It’s a word I don’t know. Please teach me.)

I was like… what? SimSimi doesn’t know it? Is it an obsolete word no one uses anymore or perhaps it simply doesn’t exist? And then I remembered that one time, on Lang-8 (http://lang-8.com/), I used a Korean word I got from Naver dictionary to make a sentence, and a native Korean pointed out that she never heard that word used before. Maybe 왁작왁작 is that kind of word? But it can’t be because I got it from a picture book for children…?

Then I got an idea. I can search on Google Books to see how it is used in sentences, in books, right? Also Google News, to see how it is used in news articles? Yes, yes, sure I can!

Search on Google Books

Search on Google Books

Search on Google News

Search on Google News

It worked! I got plenty of sentences using the word 왁작왁작. Why didn’t I realize it sooner?
Google is definitely the best.역시 구글이 갑이네요. ###

5 thoughts on “Using Google Books and Google News Search for Sample Sentences

  1. Pingback: 집마다 and 집집마다 – Korean Vitamin

  2. Pingback: My Learning Log – Korean Vitamin

  3. Pingback: Yon-sama (ヨン様) – Korean Vitamin

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

