My First Purchase on Ridibooks

I bought a book on Ridibooks!

I bought a book on Ridibooks!

Korean web bookstore for Korean e-books “Ridibooks”:

Yesterday evening I got a reply from Ridibooks telling me that the payment through Paygate was automatically cancelled and I needed to complete the payment again to buy the book that I wanted.


앞서 발생한 결제 오류의 경우 신용카드 결제 내역이 결제대행사를 통해 정상적으로 리디북스 전산으로 전달되지 않아 생긴 오류이며, 해외발행 신용카드로 결제 시도 중 리디북스 측으로 정보가 5분~10분 이상 전달되지 않을 경우 결제가 자동취소 되도록 되어있으니 이용에 참고 부탁드립니다.

번거로우시더라도 해당 도서를 다시 한 번 결제하여 이용해주시길 부탁드리며 구매 후에는  사용하시는 스마트폰, 태블릿, PC에서 리디북스 앱 및 뷰어를 설치하시면 도서를 이용하실 수 있습니다.🙂

Look at that smiley face at the end. How cute.

Anyway, I tried again, this time I used Internet Explorer and closed all other windows. I clicked the last button to complete payment and waited with bated breath. The page moved to a new one saying ‘the payment is finalized’ and this time, I got 2 notification e-mails, one from Paygate and another from Ridibooks. The e-book also immediately appeared on my viewer -on PC, also tablet. Phew!

I bought 나미야 잡화점의 기적 (Miracles of ‘Namiya’ Variety Store) on Ridibooks for 9000 won. It’s Korean translated version of a Japanese mystery novel by Keigo Higashino ナミヤ雑貨店の奇蹟. It’s a bestseller in both countries. I own but haven’t read the Japanese one. I plan to read both version at the same time to learn tons and tons of new Korean words. The length is a little nerve-wracking, though.

By the way, I think Paygate should have sent me another e-mail telling me that the first payment was cancelled so I wouldn’t have to worry… but it didn’t. I’ll just trust that I won’t get charged twice.

Now that I think about it, this was my first time shopping on a Korean-language-only web shop.Yay~!

So just read everything carefully (because at least you need to know how to make payment and use the viewer) and select 해외신용카드 (non-Korea credit card) for payment from outside Korea. Problems do occur when shopping online so it’s a good thing to find out how to contact customer service first ( ###

3 thoughts on “My First Purchase on Ridibooks

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

