I’m Not Lying! 나 거짓말 안 했다니까!

“It is as true now as it was then that no matter what tests show, very little of what is taught in school is learned, very little of what is learned is remembered, and very little of what is remembered is used.” ~ John Holt

An old friend of mine (a fellow Indonesian I met in Japan) sent me a private message via Facebook and he reminded me that I did take a Korean class at school for one semester and so it was not true that I never had a Korean teacher.


Pronunciation guide for hangul in katakana.

To that question, I replied, yes, but I forgot everything my Korean teacher taught me, even though she was a native Korean. I didn’t even remember how to read hangul anymore when I started learning Korean again 5 years ago, this time without a teacher. Because I didn’t remember anything at all, I relied a lot on romanization as pronunciation guide (and also katakana because I use Japanese to learn Korean). Why did I rely on romanization despite everybody’s advice? Because when I confused 아 and 어, or 오 and 우, nobody was there to help me and I got confused a lot.

No, romanization didn’t inhibit my progress, it helped me learn Korean every day, and it prevented me from quitting early. I’m speaking from my own experience as a self-learner.

So I know that taking a formal Korean class is not what required to learn Korean because without real interest and real use for the language, you will forget everything. Because I did. ###

One thought on “I’m Not Lying! 나 거짓말 안 했다니까!

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

