I Learned About ‘ㅅ’ 불규칙 (Irregular Conjugation ㅅ)

Today I read Korean Grammar in Use – Beginning – English Version until page 154. Now I will read about ‘ㅅ’ 불규칙 (Irregular Conjugation ㅅ) on page 342 then I’ll go to sleep.

For a few verb and adjective stems that end in ㅅ, ㅅ is omitted when added to an ending that begins with a vowel.
잇다 + -어요 = 이어요
짓다 + -을 거예요 = 지을 거예요

That’s simple enough.

Wait, 잇다? I don’t remember that word.😀 Found a sample sentence from NHK’s Gogakuru website using 잇다 http://gogakuru.com/hangeul/phrase/32242:
교장 선생님의 인사 말씀에 이어서 신임 선생님 소개가 있겠습니다.
(After the principal’s welcoming speech, there will be introduction of the newly appointed teacher.)

Although the stems of 벗다 (to take off), 웃다 (to laugh), and 씻다 (to wash) end in ㅅ, they are conjugated regularly.

Of course. I know it.

So… I just need to remember that for ‘ㅅ’ 불규칙, ㅅ fell off. Easy.
I think I already know all the conjugated forms of these words 잇다, 낫다, 붓다, 긋다, 젓다, and 짓다. I just deliberately ignored learning about the rule.😀

Let’s see how Naver Dictionary can help me about conjugation for 젓다, for example.
젖다=to stir
저어 for conjugation (아/어)… 저으 for (으)… OK.

to stir

Naver Dictionary (국어 사전)

OK, then. 잘자요. Good night… which reminds me of B1A4’s song: 잘자요 굿나잇 (Baby Good Night).

And I remember that Jinyoung of B1A4 said on Flitto: 오늘도 꿀잠 자시길 바랄게요. (I hope, today also, you will have a good night’s sleep.). Wow, I’ve learned a lot of Korean from B1A4.😀 ###

2 thoughts on “I Learned About ‘ㅅ’ 불규칙 (Irregular Conjugation ㅅ)

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

