Learning Log (Irregular Conjugation ‘ㅎ’) and Today is My Birthday

I bought N.Flying’s first mini album recently and there’s one song that I like from the album: N.Flying – Heartbreak (가슴이 놀래).

(N.Flying – Heartbreak (가슴이 놀래) [English subs + Romanization + Hangul] HD | Video from LoveKpopSubs16 님.)

Lyrics on Naver Music: http://music.naver.com/lyric/index.nhn?trackId=5350152

Some parts of the lyrics use the words 노래 (yellow) and 파래 (blue).

가슴이 놀래
My heart is surprised

내 눈앞이 다 노래
The world in front of me turns yellow

벼락같은 우리 이별 때문에
Because of our sudden break up

심장이 뛰네
My heart is pounding

내 입술이 다 파래
My lips became all blue

I knew that 노래 was conjugated from 노랗다, and 파래 was from 파랗다, but I never learned why. So… isn’t this the right time to learn irregular conjugation ㅎ? ㅎㅎㅎ

Irregular conjugation ‘ㅎ’ page 339 (Korean Grammar In Use – Beginning – English Version).

Korean Grammar in Use - Beginning

When an adjective stem ending in ㅎ is added to an ending that begins with a vowel, ㅎ is omitted.

Oh, so irregular conjugation ㅎ is only for adjectives? OK.

1. When endings beginning in 으 are added to adjective stems ending in ㅎ, ㅎ and 으 are omitted.
하얗다 + (으)ㄴ = 하얀
까맣다 + (으)니까 = 까마니까

In the book there’s a spiral mark to show that ㅎ and 으 are gone, but  I can’t type that here.

2. When endings beginning in 아/어 are added to adjective stem ending in ㅎ, ㅎ is omitted and ㅣ(‘i’) is added.

까맣다 + -아서 = 까마 + ㅣ + -아서 = 까매서
하얗다 + -아서 = 하야 + ㅣ + -아요 = 하얘요

You know what, I think it’s easier to memorize the 3 conjugated forms of each word than to understand this theory.😀

Like this:
Basic form 까맣다 : conj 1 까맣, conj 2 까마, conj 3 까매
Basic form 노랗다 : conj 1 노랗, conj 2 노라, conj 3 노래
Basic form 파랗다 : conj 1 파랗, conj 2 파라, conj 3 파래

Or memorize each word with all these sentence endings in this book.
Because in conversation, you will need to be able to say them off the top of your head. It reminds me that when I lived in Japan and my bicycle was stolen, I couldn’t say the word “to be stolen” in Japanese to the police man. ‘To steal’ is ‘nusumu‘, but what is the passive form of nusumu…? When you’re talking to someone, no time to think of what is omitted or what is added.😀

Basic form 까맣다 :
conj 1 까맣고, 까맣습니다
conj 2 까마면, 까만
conj 3 까매요, 까매서, 까맸어요

Basic form 노랗다 :
conj 1 노랗고, 노랗습니다
conj 2 노라면, 노란
conj 3 노래요, 노래서, 노랬어요

Basic form 파랗다 :
conj 1 파랗고, 파랗습니다
conj 2 파라면, 파란
conj 3 파래요, 파래서, 파랬어요

There are tables of conjugation in the book which I think are useful. There’s explanation that words like 좋다 (good), 많다 (many), 낳다 (to give birth to), and 넣다 (to put in) are conjugated regularly… and that 이렇다, 그렇다, 저렇다, and 어떻다 become 이래, 그래, 저래, and 어때. Conversation… exercises…

OK. I’m done studying for today.

Today is my birthday, by the way.

Birthday Cake

내 생일 케익. 생일 날 전에 다 맛있게 먹었어요.

서른일곱 살이 되었어요. My husband bought me a cake for my birthday, but he was 2 days too early. He made fun of me but obviously it was him that should worry about getting old.😀 ###


Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

