How To Pronunce 미쳤구나 (You’re Crazy)

I’m back! 제가 돌아왔어요~

A “free” upgrade to Windows 10 cost me Rp 900,000 to get a new hard disk for my laptop. I’m back to old Windows 7 Home. I thought it was because my Asus laptop was too old, but then I found this YouTube video. This Japanese guy bought a new Asus laptop… and a free upgrade to Windows 10 broke his laptop, twice.😀

So this morning I read about 미쳤구나 on KBS World – Japanese website (in Japanese It’s a term often used in Korean drama to say “wow, you’re crazy!”. The dictionary form is 미치다 (to be crazy).

너 완전 미쳤구나! = You really are crazy! / You’re absolutely out of your mind!

KBS World Japanese

Because the website didn’t give explanation about its pronunciation, I was wondering about how to pronounce 미쳤구나.
Is it [미쳐꾸나]? It does sound like it.
But wait, maybe it’s [미처꾸나]?
쳐 and 처, are they pronounced the same way? Gasp. I’m not sure.
They sound the same to me.
Besides, in textbooks in Japanese, they’re both written with katakana “チョ” (cho).
But then, I wasn’t sure.
So I checked one of many Korean textbooks I own: KBSの韓国語 標準発音と朗読 (in Japanese).
and I found this sentence:

그저 바람같이 사라지는 괴물을 멍하니 쳐다볼 수밖에 없었다.
They could only watch dumbfoundedly the monster which disappeared like the wind.

There are notes about pronunciation:
같이 is pronounced [가치],
쳐다볼 수 밖에 is pronounced [처:다볼쑤바께],
and 없었다 is pronounced [업:썯따].

Now I can be sure that 쳐 is pronounced [처].
And so pronunciation of 미쳤구나 (“you’re crazy!”) is [미처꾸나]  [mi-cheo-kku-na].

Mystery solved. Yay!😀

Related post: The Silent [t]. ###

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

