I Learned Korean from J-pop Today

Today I suddenly missed an old J-pop song, ‘Tentai Kansoku’ by Bump of Chicken and when I searched for it on iTunes – Indonesia, it was available, so I bought it.

When I listened to it using ALSong app (the English version of the app is gone but the Korean version still exists), the lyrics and translation in Korean appeared and so I learned some new words:

踏み切り=건널목
担ぐ=짊어지다
大げさに=야단스럽게
ほうき星=혜성

At this part: 予報外れの雨に打たれて (‘the weather forecast was off and we got wet by the rain’) I thought the translation from ALSong (일기예보를 벗어난 비에 젖어) was weird. Maybe it’s OK to translate it that way but I learned ‘일기예보가 빗나가다’ to say ‘weather forecast is off’, so I googled and found the Korean translation of the lyrics of Tentai Kansoku which used the term ‘일기예보가 빗나가다’:
https://namu.wiki/w/%EC%B2%9C%EC%B2%B4%EA%B4%80%EC%B8%A1#s-2.2

予報外れの雨に打たれて
일기예보가 빗나간 비에 젖어

When I learned the Korean word for ‘comet’, 혜성, I became curious about the age of the Shinhwa member, Shin Hye-sung (신혜성), so I asked Google.

how old is shin hye sung

And I thought that 36 was actually pronounced [삼심뉵/sam sim nyuk] and that there were people who thought it was pronounced [sam sip yuk] but they were wrong.

And that’s all. ###

I Learned Korean from J-pop Today”에 대한 1개의 생각

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

