I Learned Korean from UNIQ Today (^^)

Just now I was watching a live broadcast by a Korean and Chinese boyband, UNIQ (유니크) on V app. I really like all UNIQ’s Korean songs. I thought about learning Chinese so I could enjoy their Chinese songs too but soon I decided against it because I didn’t think I could make the time for it.

UNIQ on V App

I appointed these two cuties as my Korean teachers of the day, without them knowing it.

Only 2 members, Yibo and Seung Youn, made an appearance to chat with fans. They said the other members were in China for a gig. They talked about their latest concert in Brazil and they would have their next comeback as a surprise for fans. (Great, as long as they are not disbanded.).

I felt like Seung Youn’s speech was relatively easy to follow, maybe because Yibo is Chinese so Seung Youn spoke slowly using simple vocabulary.

I learned a new word:
찝찝하다 = uncomfortable, icky

I heard Seung Youn said ‘찝찝합니다’ about catching cold in this rainy season, and then I looked it up on Naver Dictionary. (There were no subtitles).

He also said he watched Park Sin Hye’s drama, Doctors, all day long, yesterday.
By the way, I just realized this morning that I could watch the new drama on TV (I live in Indonesia), but it was already episode 5.

A fan asked what they wanted to eat right now. Seung Youn answered tonkatsu and Yibo cheese ramyun. They’re so cute.

But what I meant to blog about now is… at one point, Seung Youn said “this week” (이번 주) they might go to Hongdae, and he pronounced it [이번쭈].

[이번쭈]? Why [이번쭈]? I got curious so I did my research on 국립국어원’s website (http://www.korean.go.kr) because it’s easy to find information about grammatically correct Korean there if you can read Korean. Just enter your keyword and click search.

After reading some related articles, I learned that in daily life, native Koreans pronounce:
이번 주 (this week) as [이번쭈]
다음 주 (next week) as [다음쭈]
지난주 (last week) is pronounced the way it is written.

이번 달 (this month) as [이번딸]
다음 달 (next month) as [다음딸]
지난달 (last month) is pronounced the way it is written.

However, to put it simply, people in charge of answering questions insist that the correct way to pronounce 이번 주 is just 이번 주 as 2 separate words. And this also applies to 다음 주, 이번 달, and 다음 달. So there’s no foundation to say that [이번쭈],  [다음딸], and so on are correct. And they explain that 지난주, 지난달 are considered a compound word (1 word).

Read complete questions and answers here (in Korean):



http://www.korean.go.kr/front/onlineQna/onlineQnaView.do?mn_id=61&qna_seq=76598 (this one says ‘it’s possible’)


Hmm… it gets confusing when the real life and the official rules don’t agree with each other (?).
Well, I am just happy that my curiosity has been satisfied.

Let’s watch the music video of EOEO by UNIQ (with English subtitles)!

From the lyrics, I learned  the word 몰리다 (殺到する) .
기웃 기웃 여기저기 나를 향해 몰려 (Peeping, from here and there, crowds come to me).

And I found a more practical sentence for the word  몰리다 on NHK Gogakuru‘s website (in Japanese): 내일은 휴일이니까 사람이 많이 몰릴 것 같아요. (Since tomorrow is a holiday, it will be crowded with a lot of people. 明日は休日だから人が殺到しそうです。) ###

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

