Bought “2000 Essential Korean Words – Intermediate” from Darakwon

I downloaded the audio files of 2000 Essential Korean Words – Intermediate from Darakwon official website ( I used Internet Explorer 11 and didn’t experience any trouble like the last time at all. I guess they fixed the website. But you still have to use Internet Explorer to download, in case you don’t know it. You can download the audio files without purchase.

Download Darakwon

Free Mp3 Download on Darakwon

And then, I thought, I would just buy the e-book version of 2000 Essential Korean Words – Intermediate on Ridibooks ( because… I wanted to. It’s not that expensive anyway (about 15,000 won because I had accumulated points from previous purchases).

From the audio files, I notice that Darakwon (다락원) actually sounds more like [ta-ra-gwon] in Indonesian… sounds…

2000 Essential Korean Words – Intermediate follows the same format as the one for beginners. There is a word in Korean, its pronunciation (because sometimes a Korean word is pronounced differently than the way it’s written), the word meaning in English, Chinese, and Japanese, whether it has irregular conjugation, and a sample of usage in form of conversation between 2 people but without translation (I would love a translation in English or Japanese, but I don’t mind, the sentences are not difficult to understand).

I think it’s great that the use of the word is given in conversation, not just a simple sentence. It’s easier to remember words when you think you can use it in conversations. The conversations are read/narrated in the audio files so you can practice listening, too.

Just like the other book of the same series for beginners, the intermediate one has some pages explaining about hanja (Chinese characters) to expand vocabulary.

There’s also a self-check exercise at the end of every chapter.

And that’s all I know because I haven’t really read it thoroughly yet.

But I do notice one thing from page 23, about the word 싫증 (명/noun), pronunciation [실쯩].
I don’t think ‘a lack of interest’ is the correct English translation. Maybe ‘dislike’ or ‘distaste’.
(Audio file 1, -3:07)
가: 시간이 없는데 우리 김밥 먹을래?
나: 또 김밥이야? 넌 싫증도 안 나?

No translation given so here is mine:

A: We don’t have time so why don’t we eat gimbap?
B: Gimbab again? Don’t you get tired of it?

The voice actors pronounce 김밥 as [김빱]. So I got curious…
I checked Naver Dictionary for pronunciation and it just says [김ː밥], not [김빱].

Then I found a tweet by @urimal365 replying that the standard way to pronounce 김밥 is [김ː밥].

‘김밥’의 표준 발음은 [김ː밥]입니다.

At least now I know that native Koreans also pronounce 김밥 as [김빱] even though it’s not officially standard Korean. ###

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

