Basic Korean Dictionary from NIKL (National Institute of Korean Language)

안녕~ Here’s another free online Korean dictionary you can use to learn Korean.

Basic Korean Dictionary (한국어 기초 사전) from NIKL (National Institute of Korean Language) http://krdict.korean.go.kr/mainAction

The main page is for Korean-Korean (monolingual dictionary) but if you scroll down the main page, you can see that the basic Korean dictionary is available in 10 languages, including Indonesian (http://krdict.korean.go.kr/ind/mainAction), which is my native language, and also Japanese (http://krdict.korean.go.kr/jpn/mainAction?nation=jpn), which I use to learn Korean (most of Korean language textbooks I use are written in Japanese).

many-languages
Scroll down and click to select one of these dictionaries.

Let’s try the English – Korean one because this blog is English http://krdict.korean.go.kr/eng.

I’ll look up the word “똑같다” because it’s the word for Hey Korean Mission on Catch the Wave – Arirang Radio for next Wednesday and I want to take part and hear my name mentioned on air.😁

November 16
*Make your own Korean sentence
using the phrase “똑같다” (same).
You can also use past tense or other forms of the word “똑같다”
such as the honorary form “똑같아요” or “똑같습니다.”

ex) 우리는 옷을 똑같이 입었어요(We wore the same clothes today)

ex) 늘 똑같은 음식을 먹어요
(I always eat the same food )

Is it my internet connection, but the result page loads really slow for me. So that’s a minus. Naver Dictionary is lighter and faster. But I like what I see here. People who made the dictionary designed it with foreign learners in mind.

똑같다 http://me2.do/xFvh4ju4

basic-korean-dictionary
Result for ‘똑같다’

First, it gives correct hangul pronunciation and audio sample on the same page.
For Naver, you have to go to the 국어사전 (monolingual Korean dictionary) for standard hangul pronunciation, and move to English one for definition in English.

You can see and listen on that page that 똑같다 is pronounced [똑깓따].
똑같아 is pronounced [똑까타].
똑같으니 is pronounced [똑까트니].

The definition is given in both Korean and English, which is great for learners who want to be able to read explanation in Korean but find it a bit daunting or confusing.

It gives 3 definitions for 똑같다, each with a few sample sentences. Not bad.

The English-Korean dictionary couldn’t find a word definition in its conjugated form. So you can only look up a word in its basic form or dictionary form. Maybe the Japanese and Korean (monolingual) can. Just try and explore for yourself!

I think it’s amazing that Korean government is passionate about giving free education/ free tools to learn Korean via internet, not only for Korean people but also for foreigners. Definitely better than those who are only passionate about blocking the internet. ###

21 thoughts on “Basic Korean Dictionary from NIKL (National Institute of Korean Language)

  1. I usually don’t bother with the dictionary with half the Korean words I look up because I know they won’t be there.i don’t need to waste my time. So I end up using Google with imi wa in Japanese after it. Sometimes that even fails so I use chiebukuro and ask Korean peole wtf it means. It comes up so often because people use slang or slightly alter the actual word. It is such a goddamn nightmare that I never have to deal with in Japanese. For some reason I got really deep into Japanese I just had a feeling it would be a shit show with Korean with the dictionary bring so damn useless at times

    Like

    • It’s not always bad… taking time in learning something. Sometimes learning that takes more time is more meaningful and satisfying.

      But doesn’t it take more time to ask a question to a real person? I remember I used up an entire day just for one phrase…

      You’re right, Korean language has many words that are not in Naver dictionary. If it fails me, I use Google. I google “{the Korean word} 意味” for explanation in Japanese. I get search results from Chiebukuro, too. But I never need to ask a question myself. There’s always someone else who had the same question before.

      I also google “{the Japanese word I don’t understand} 意味” for Japanese.

      Like

  2. But doesn’t it take more time to ask a question to a real person? I remember I used up an entire day just for one phrase…

    That’s because I have to ask because it’s nowhere to be found via google. And it doesn’t take a whole day. It takes 10 seconds to ask on chiebukuro. If you haven’t come across this situation then you have to consume more native Korean media because you’re bound to come across stuff that’s not even in google to the point where you resort to chiebukuro

    http://m.chiebukuro.yahoo.co.jp/my/savealifebook
    This is my chiebukuro I spam it like crazy with Korean and Japanese questions .

    I asked about the Japanese you mentioned using the Japanese version of that site and I didn’t see anything about it I. Your about me page. What do you do in Japanese nowadays? Is your goal fluency? Also I’m curious about the answers to those questions regarding your Korean. Of course the definition of fluency is so hard to decide on

    Liked by 1 person

    • More than 2000 questions… wow that’s impressive. You’re a veteran at Yahoo! Chiebukuro! Yes, 10 seconds to ask a question, but then answers keep pouring in and the moral obligation to say thank you to each of them… It will take a whole day, even more. But I know it’s fun.
      Do you mean Basic Korean Dictionary in Japanese? http://krdict.korean.go.kr/jpn/mainAction?nation=jpn
      What do I do in Japanese? Nothing. I used to translate stuff but now I don’t need to work and I don’t want to. I’m fluent enough that they let me publish a Japanese – Indonesian dictionary with my name.

      Like

  3. Btw what languages do you know? I don’t know much about Indonesia. I do follow this Singaporean girl who speaks mandarin and English. Maybe you already know her hangukdrama.com

    Like

    • Language I know…Indonesian, Japanese, English, Korean, and 150 Mandarin words for HSK Level 1. ^^ What’s to know about Indonesia…? Bali, maybe? Nasi goreng? Hanguk Drama. Yes, I follow her blog, too.

      Like

  4. it take so less than 5 seconds to reply yes because chiebukuro set up this new function where yOu click this button which gives you the option to fill in the field with one or more the 5 common responses like thank you or response was helpful so I don’t even have to type anything to express my gratitude

    Also you don’t have to say thank you and you don’t have to pick the best answer.

    you should try using chiebukuro before you write it off,

    Also regarding your dictionary how does that work? Do they ask for your input and you also add in words to that dictionary ? Or are you one compiling crap like crazy? Are you just editing? Is the dictionary based on preexisting dictionary? I’m just curious what that entailed

    Like

  5. You really don’t do anything in Japanese anymore? How long has that been going on for ? Are you scared of attrition ? For me I have so music to listen to and books to read and tv shows to watch. There’s a lot of stuff to consume

    Like

    • No, I’m taking a break. Yes, I do that, too, consuming Japanese media. Even now, every time I listen to podcasts or watch Japanese dramas or Japanese TV news on YouTube or Yahoo, I always learn new words so I’m not worried about attrition, I’m worried whether I can retain the new words. I just watched this drama Chef and there was this line: 渾身のオレンジソースの作り方も伝授しちゃいます! I thought ‘konshin no orange sauce’? What’s ‘konshin’? I just looked it up on dictionary and got “using all one’s strength”, so she was saying she had worked hard to make the orange sauce. Learning never ends.

      Like

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

