Today’s Hey Korean Mission

Today is Wednesday, my favorite day to learn Korean, because I can listen to Hey Korean Mission on Arirang Radio’s Catch The Wave with DJ Jae Min Park and the Korean teacher, Mr. HyunWoo Sun of Talk To Me In Korean (http://www.talktomeinkorean.com/).

The word for Hey Korean Mission today was 실망하다 (to be disappointed) and I sent 2 sentences through the message board but they only read one on air.

So HyunWoo read my sentence to DJ Jae Min:

If DJ Jae Min is busy with something else and can not do a live show for Catch The Wave, many listeners will be disappointed.
박재민 DJ님이 다른 일로 바빠서 캐치 더 웨이브의 생방송을 하지 못하게 되시면 많은 애청자들이 *실망할 거예요*.

DJ Jae Min sounded a bit shocked and he commented that my sentence was a little harsh. And then he explained that the word 실망하다 had a stronger meaning than just ‘disappointed’, and even though it’s fine to use 실망하다 about yourself, you shouldn’t use it to talk about your disappointment in someone else unless you are really angry at the person.

As usual, they explained 2 Korean buzzwords at the second half of the show.The first Korean buzzword was 아재파탈, from 아재 (middle-aged man) and 파탈 (fatale, French word), so ‘아재파탈’ means ‘attractive middle-aged man’, for example George Clooney or Sean Connery. I sent a message asking could I use ‘아재파탈’ for DJ Jae Min and HyunWoo and they answered no because they’re too young to be called 아재 or 아저씨 ‘ajeossi/ajussi’ (middle-aged men). They are both in their 30s.

The Korean term ‘ajeossi’ is usually translated as ‘ojisan’ in Japanese, but in Japanese you can call men over 30 as ‘ojisan’. I guess it’s a little different in Korean. How old is an ‘ajussi’ then? A man who is over 40? I didn’t have a chance to ask the question. I think ‘ajussi’ must be over 40.

The second buzzword they taught was 성지순례 or literally ‘pilgrimage to a sacred place’ but the word has a new meaning on the internet. It means ‘to visit an old blog post or anything someone posted online about a prediction of something in the future which now has became a reality’. And people left their private wishes (‘please make my business successful’) as comments on the post as if they make wishes to God in a holy place.

korean
Hyun Woo 쌤’s book about Talk To Me In Korean

And I also asked about a book wrote by Hyun Woo that I found on Google Book. He answered that he wrote the book a few years ago and it was about how he taught Korean. The title is 한국어를 팝니다 (I/we sell Korean language). ###

6 thoughts on “Today’s Hey Korean Mission

    • I was surprised that it was such a sensitive word. Jae Min said not to say something like ‘저는 선생님께 실망했어요.’ (I’m disappointed at you, Teacher). You’re welcome.🙂

      Like

  1. Hi! I don’t know if this is really simple or not, but I really wanted to listen to a podcast for Catch the Wave as well as write on the message board…however I don’t know HOW to do it (if that makes sense). The website is kind of hard to make sense of and on the app it doesn’t seem like people ask sentences and such for it. Can you talk about/explain it? Thank you!

    Like

    • I know! It was hard to make sense of the website’s layout at first. You have to make time to read everything on the site and click around and figure things out.

      When you go to Message Board, you will find 7 announcements from their staff (or Notice) on top. There is one with the title: *HEY KOREAN MISSION (Check for your weekly missions!!). That’s where you can read the instruction or the word for next Wednesday. They also have other segments for different days that you can participate in.

      How to leave a message:
      From the Message Board, if you scroll down the page, you can see a button that says “WRITE”.

      If you click it, you will get a blank form where you can write your message. In order to leave a message on Message Board you have to be a registered member and log in first. You can leave your message anytime, any day, for any segment.

      Like

  2. Hi! I’ve been following your blog for some time, and I really admire your dedication to learning Korean. I’ve been learning with a teacher for a few years already, but I’m definitely not as hardworking or dedicated as you. I shall try to follow in your footsteps in 2017! Looking forward to more great posts!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind words. Let’s learn more Korean in 2017… which is 3 weeks from today. It just looks like I’m working hard because I blog about learning Korean. Your comment was sorted into spam box by WordPress so I didn’t see it before.

      Like

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

