Nam TaeHyun’s Letter on Instagram

Nam TaeHyun (남태현) posted a hand-written message for fans after the official announcement from YG Entertainment that he left his group WINNER and his contract with the company was terminated due to his mental illness that he had suffered since his childhood. So sad. The letter: https://www.instagram.com/p/BNRJlZojWkT/?taken-by=souththth.

nam-taehyuns-letter

안녕하세요 남태현입니다.
Hello. This is Nam TaeHyun.

저를 사랑해주신 모든 분들께 안타까운 소식을 접하게 해드려 죄송할 따름입니다.
I feel nothing but sorry that I made everyone who have loved me learn about such a sad news.

짧다면 짧고 길다면 긴 시간동안 많은 일들이 있었고
Many things happened during the time which can be said as short or long depends on how you see it,

그룹 ‘위너’의 멤버 남태현으로 너무 과분한 사랑을 받아
정말 행복했습니다.
I was really happy to receive such generous love as Nam Tae Hyun, a member of the group Winner.

긴 회의 끝에 이와 같은 결정이 내려졌으나
This decision was made at the end of a long meeting, but

좋은 음악을 하고자 하는 저의 마음에 변화는 없으
there is no change in my intention to make good music and

또 다른 음악과 작품들로 찾아 뵙겠습니다.
I will return to meet you with different music and works.

추운 날씨 몸 건강하시고
Please take care of your health in this cold weather

응원해주시는 모든 분들께 진심으로 감사드립니다
I sincerely thank all of you who have supported me.

남태현 올림.
From Nam TaeHyun.

I looked up 2 grammars: -을 따름이다 and -며. ###

3 thoughts on “Nam TaeHyun’s Letter on Instagram

    • Oh, really? That’s new to me. I’ve never heard about -다며 at the end of the sentence. Maybe it’s a very casual usage. From my dictionary, -며 can have the same meaning as -면서 or -고, but there are only examples of -며 as a connector in the middle of the sentence. Thank you. 가르쳐 주셔서 감사합니다.

      Like

    • I was surprised as well why he chose that. Usually the shortened forms are the more formal forms or ones used in writing, -(으)며 / -(으)면서, -(으)니까 / -(으)니, -아/어 / -아/어서 so that confused me a bit. I would probably have to check about these and let you know if I get good results hehe. You’re welcome!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

