Pronunciation of 아직요 and 지갑요

I had always wanted to ask Hyunwoo from http://www.talktomeinkorean.com about pronunciation changes in hangul because as far as I know, he never mentioned about it in his videos, and I finally wrote my question to him on the Catch The Wave’s message board yesterday for Hey Korean segment. I found it funny that DJ Jaemin and Hyunwoo 샘 kept saying the Korean words to themselves and at the end, they came up with different answers. 🙂

My message:

Which is the most common way to pronounce 아직요 (not yet), is it [아지교] or [아징뇨] ?
As in: 결혼하셨어요? 아직요. (Are you married? Not yet.)

How to pronounce 지갑요 (wallet)? Is it [지가뵤] or [지감뇨] ?
As in: 뭐 찾으세요? 지갑요. (What are you looking for? A wallet.)

pronunciation-question
***
Hyunwoo샘:
OK, this one is also from Andini in Indonesia. Which is the most common way to
pronounce ‘아직 plus 요’? Like, ‘not yet’. Is it [아지교] or [아징뇨] ? What do you say?

DJ JaeMin:
Hmm… [아지기요].

Hyunwoo샘:
[아지교]? So yeah, I would say [아직…이요]. That way we can avoid confusion. But I think a lot of people say [아징뇨].

DJ JaeMin:
It’s actually from 아직이오. It’s abbreviated, it’s shortened as [아직…요].

Hyunwoo샘:
[아징뇨]. Yeah. So [아징뇨]. If I actually read it, I would say [아징뇨].

DJ JaeMin:
[아징뇨]. I would go for [아지기요] as well.

Hyunwoo샘:
[아징뇨]. [아징뇨]. OK.

DJ JaeMin:
That’s a very high level question.

Hyunwoo샘:
Yeah, yeah, so great… Also another example here. How do you pronounce 지갑(wallet)+요? So… What are you looking for? Wallet.

DJ JaeMin:
My wallet. Yeah.

Hyunwoo샘:
Do you say [지가뵤] or [지감뇨]?

DJ JaeMin:
[지갑…요], [지가…뵤], [지가뵤].

Hyunwoo샘:
You will go for [지가뵤]?

DJ JaeMin:
Yeah, yeah, [지가뵤].

Hyunwoo샘:
Aah.. I would say [지감뇨]. [지갑…요].[지갑…이요]. I would go actually for [지갑…이요].

DJ JaeMin:
Wow, we are questioning ourselves. 🙂

Hyunwoo샘:
It just shows that there are personal differences but now you know there are
different people pronounce them in different ways.

DJ JaeMin:
Still, I think, everybody could understand both options.

Hyunwoo샘:
Yeah, perfectly.

***

Catch The Wave: http://www.arirangradio.com/catchthewave ###

8 thoughts on “Pronunciation of 아직요 and 지갑요

  1. You perseverate over this way too much. Lots of listening and reading will set this stuff straight. Like they said there’s individual preferences so sometimes there isn’t even an a right answer.

    Like

    • Yes, it was a question that arose from lots of listening and reading. I noticed people pronounced them differently (just on TV or internet because I’ve never met any Korean in my real life). It’s nice to get a confirmation from real native Korean people. 🙂

      Like

  2. I never even studied this or considered this to be an aspect of learning Korean. If anything reading Korean is easier than English since it’s more logical and more phonetic. Imagine learning English and constantly obsessing over every pronounciation rule instead of listening and paying attention to what you’re hearing. I just feel like you could put your time to better use for improving your Korean.

    Like

    • DJ JaeMin and Hyunwoo themselves said on previous show that the most important thing in learning Korean was “pronunciation”. I was glad to hear that so I asked them about pronunciation this week. When I started learning Korean on my own, people on the internet warned me that I would mispronounce things if I didn’t have a Korean teacher. That’s why I am careful about pronunciation. I don’t want to give ‘self-learning Korean’ a bad reputation!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. By the way have you ever recorded yourself speaking or reading Korean? I did that one time for my Japanese even though I hate my voice but comparing myself to all the others of Japanese listening of tv talent and geinin and whatnot I thought I sounded pretty natural

    Like

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

