My Sentence Using 여행 (Travel)

yoheng

My message on Message Board

Hey Korean Mission on Catch The Wave (Arirang Radio) this week:

*Make your own Korean sentence using the word “여행”(travel)
ex) 요즘 여행 가고 싶은데 시간이 없어요.
(I want to go travel these days, but I don’t have time)

ex) 작년에 친한 친구랑 해외 여행 갔어요.
(I traveled abroad last year with my best friend)

This is my sentence:

효자이신 박재민 DJ님이 부모님 결혼 기념 선물로 두바이 해외 여행을 보내 드렸답니다.
참 멋있으세요.
(DJ JaeMin Park, who is a filial son, gave his parents overseas tour to Dubai as their wedding anniversary present. He’s really awesome.)

ON-AIR
Hyunwoo쌤:
This one from Andini in Indonesia, always a great Korean speaker. We thought, you thought, this person was Korean.

(I never speak Korean to anyone, just to myself :D, but I don’t mind hearing compliments on my Korean.:mrgreen:)

DJ JaeMin:
Yes, because she has ‘An’. We have a Korean last name, Ahn (안).

Hyunwoo쌤:
Uh-huh. I don’t think that’s the reason. 🙂 But, she, or he? Are you sure it’s a she?

DJ JaeMin:
Yes, I think we’re friends on SNS.

(Must be someone else with similar name. I’ve never contacted DJ JaeMin on social media.:mrgreen:)

Hyunwoo쌤:
I see. She asked some Korean questions before so I can be somewhat sure that she’s a Korean learner, just a very advanced learner.

(I’m a very advanced learner. Bwahaha. :mrgreen:)

But anyway, she said: 효자이신 박재민 DJ님이 부모님 결혼 기념 선물로 두바이 해외 여행을 보내 드렸답니다. 참 멋있으세요.
Awesome. Well done.
I remember you telling me about it on air. And the word ”여행” is right here. “해외 여행” = overseas travel.

DJ JaeMin:
Uh-huh. She’s trying to say I sent my parents to Dubai for their wedding anniversary.

Hyunwoo쌤:
That’s right. On an overseas trip = “해외 여행”.

DJ JaeMin:
Yup. Yes, that’s what I did.

Hyunwoo쌤:
That’s great.

DJ JaeMin:
And then I almost got bankrupt. It was so expensive. 😀 😀 😀

Hyunwoo쌤:
Almost.

DJ JaeMin:
Almost. I’m still here. 🙂

***

I think it’s great that Koreans have the tradition to show their love and gratefulness to their parents by sending their parents on a trip as presents or to go abroad together with their old parents because it could be the last chance to spend time with them. Sounds like a wonderful thing to do and very touching.
Actually, I just read about it on the internet because I don’t have any Korean friends.

I’m not even on speaking terms with my parents. My parents are so mean to me now I want to keep our relationship as distant as possible. I’ve been craving for parental love all my life. Too much information? But we Indonesians do that. We talk about our private lives in public. 😀 ###

3 thoughts on “My Sentence Using 여행 (Travel)

  1. Hi! I started self studying Korean a month ago and I’ve read so many comments about people saying it’s impossible to learn to an advanced level without going to a class or living in Korea but your blog gives me hope as you’re so good though you don’t take classes or live in Korea! 고마워요. 실수를 자주 해요. 그래도 괜찮아요. 실수를 안 하면 배우고 있지 않아요. “천리길도 한 걸음부터”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. People do say that, but we decide what we believe. Your Korean is so good after only a month of learning! Actually, I usually only use what I’ve learned before and try not to use what I don’t know for sure because I don’t like making mistakes. I make mistakes anyway, though, because I forget… stuff. 😀

      Like

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

