My Korean Sentence Using the Word 애완동물 (Pet)

Yesterday was Wednesday, the day for Hey Korean Mission segment on Catch The Wave, Arirang Radio, my favorite radio program, because I can learn new Korean expressions and I can get my weekly dose of compliments on my Korean from Korean teacher from http://www.TalkToMeInKorean.com, HyunWoo 선생님, and my favorite DJ, JaeMin Park, by doing my homework.😀

Catch The Wave: http://www.arirangradio.com/catchthewave

pets-in-korean

The word of the week was: 애완동물 (pet).

Make your own Korean sentence using the word “애완동물”(pet)

ex) 자취하고 있지만 애완동물이 있어서 외롭지 않아.
(I live by myself but I’m not lonely because I have a pet)

ex) 애완동물 키우는 것은 보람 있다.
(It’s worthwhile to raise a pet)

I posted 3 sentences on the message board. I felt a little embarrassed for posting too many messages  but I couldn’t help it. I just got excited that DJ JaeMin and HyunWoo 선생님, real Korean people in Seoul, South Korea, would actually read them. I could have sent more Korean sentences but I restrained myself. 😛

Last week, HyunWoo 선생님 said I may send Korean sentences as a way to practice for TOPIK 2 so I used -한다 form for writing, not polite -해요 and -합니다 form as before. This is my first sentence:

책에서 봤는데 부모의 사랑을 받지 못하고 자란 사람들이 애완동물을 귀여워하며 기르는 것은 마음의 상처를 치유하거나 다시 사랑을 배우게 해 줄 것이라고 한다.
I read in a book that raising pets could help people who grew up without receiving parental love to heal their psychological wounds and  re-learn how to love.

I read a book in Japanese about toxic mothers (母という病 by Takashi Okada).

ON-AIR

HyunWoo 선생님:
Andini from Indonesia. He, uhm, she, always sends in lots of great messages. I’m sorry I just keep mixing up. But, 책에서 봤는데, the message goes, 부모의 사랑을 받지 못하고 자란 사람들이, this is a long one.

DJ JaeMin:
Uh-huh.

HyunWoo 선생님:
애완동물을 귀여워하며 기르는 것은, not over yet, 마음의 상처를 치유하거나, not over yet, 다시
사랑을 배우게 해 줄 것이라고 한다.😄

DJ JaeMin:
That’s just one sentence.

HyunWoo 선생님:
Yes, one sentence.😄

DJ JaeMin:
Hahaha.😄

HyunWoo 선생님:
Of course, this is the ultimate level of Korean.😄

DJ JaeMin:
She’s so fluent in using Korean.

HyunWoo 선생님:
Yes, so, to roughly translate it, 책에서 봤는데, I read in a book, 부모의 사랑을 받지 못하고 자란 사람들이, people who grew up without receiving a lot of love from their parents, 애완동물을 귀여워하며 기르는 것은, raising a pet, while treasuring or considering the pet to be cute, 마음의 상처를 치유하거나 다시 사랑을 배우게 해 줄 것이라고 한다, the book says that it helps cure the broken heart, and, or, help them re-learn how to love.

DJ JaeMin:
Hmm…

HyunWoo 선생님:
Great sentence. 😄

***

To be continued, with my 2nd & 3rd sentences. ###

One thought on “My Korean Sentence Using the Word 애완동물 (Pet)

  1. Pingback: My Korean Sentence Using the Word 애완동물 (Pet) | Korean Vitamin

Leave a reply. 댓글을 남겨주세요.

